Gabbi Reviews: Patrick’s Savior by Nic Starr

Title: Heroes, Book 3: Patrick’s Savior

Author: Nic Starr

Publisher: Self-Published

Pages: 169

Characters: Patrick Edwards, Simon Dawson

POV: 3rd

Sub-Genre: Contemporary Romance, Series

Kisses: 4.5

Blurb:

How do you find love when someone doesn’t want you to be happy?

Patrick Edwards is dealing with a double whammy. Unwanted attention from his housemate’s boyfriend is making him feel uncomfortable in his own home, and he’s facing uncertainty with his employment as an administrative assistant at the local elementary school. He finally breathes a sigh of relief when a friend puts him in contact with Simon, who has a vacant room.

Simon Dawson is a paramedic who doesn’t hesitate to help Patrick. After all, no one should live in a house where they don’t feel safe. Simon develops feelings for Patrick, but doesn’t act on them—Patrick’s moved from a bad situation and doesn’t need his new housemate hitting on him. However, a weekend away changes everything when Simon realizes Patrick returns his feelings.

But someone doesn’t want Patrick and Simon to be happy. A series of strange letters arrive at the house, and things will get a lot worse before the two men get their happily ever after.

Review:

I have this belief that nice guys DO finish first. Sure, I like that bad boy alpha, but I confess that I prefer to read stories about realistically written men who are genuinely nice guys. In my opinion, there are a few authors who excel at writing thoughtful, intelligent heroes who are kind and caring men and Nic Starr is one of them. I’ve read several books by this author and I’ve enjoyed every one of them. There is something special about the way the relationship develops between her two men and I always find myself quickly enthralled with the story they have to tell.

Both Simon and Patrick are amazing men. Patrick has a knack for being a tad bit clumsy but though he often finds himself in interesting situations, has a warmth and sweetness about him that I couldn’t help but love. On the other hand, Simon is a hero that was well worthy of Patrick. His thoughtfulness and drive to keep Patrick safe and to make him happy really resonated with me as a reader. It was so easy to fall in love with Simon and I totally understood why Patrick was so enamored with him as well.

The relationship between Simon and Patrick is the reason why I loved this story. They fit together so smoothly and the chemistry between them was so strong, it was clear to see that they belong together and I love that when it comes to reading romance.

There is also a mystery/suspenseful plot to the story. Though I figured out who the villain was pretty early on, I still enjoyed the twists and turns Ms. Starr gave me throughout the story. I thought Patrick was blind at times and his instinct to protect Simon was to push him away wasn’t his best move, but in many ways, it was a realistic one. How many of us don’t want to face what’s in front of us and because of it, turn a blind eye to the obvious?

If you are looking for a well-written, thoughtful romance than Patrick’s Savior is the book for you. Although it is the third book in the series, it can easily be read as a stand-alone story. I DO recommend reading all of the Heroes books because once you meet these guys, you too will love them as much as I do.

Highly Recommended!

The Heroes books are:

Charlie’s Hero

Andrew’s Promise

Patrick’s Savior

Reviewed By: Gabbi

Click HERE to purchase Patrick’s Savior by Nic Starr

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

