Gabbi Reviews: The Sorcerer’s Lover by Shawn Lane

Title: Sorcerer’s Lover

Author: Shawn Lane

Publisher: JMS Books

Pages: 43

Characters: Warin, Benedict

POV:  3rd

Sub-Genre: Historical, Romance

Kisses: 5

Blurb:

When Warin, a sorcerer, needs a large amount of coins to rescue his sister from her abductor, he chooses to abduct someone himself. And he selects the man he has been lusting after ever since sharing a secret, sensual moment at court months earlier — Benedict, the beautiful and illegitimate son of the king.

At first, Benedict is reluctant to give into forbidden desires, but he cannot resist the enigmatic sorcerer’s pull. Yet when he surrenders to his lust, he’s also not sure whether it’s of his own free will or because of a spell Warin cast on him.

As the men grow closer, however, they realize that when the ransom is paid, Benedict must be released and Warin must flee from punishment. Will they be able to end their passionate affair and separate, or will they fight to stay together, even if it means facing the king’s wrath?

Review:

I admit that I’ve read this book before when it was first released years ago. I’ve read so many books since then, I kind of forgot about it so when I noticed it was re-released by JMS books, I knew I wanted to read it again and see if I enjoyed it as much as I once did.

For one thing, Ms. Lane does a good job writing historical romances. I quickly found myself wrapped up into her characters’ lives and enjoyed the story they had to tell. One of the tricky things about gay historical romances can be the ‘taboo’ of homosexuality back in the both recent and dark ages. Ms. Lane does an excellent job tackling this while still allowing her heroes work toward a happy ending.

Who doesn’t love reading about a sorcerer who falls in love with a young prince? I was and I still am intrigued by the interesting dynamics of this couple and truly loved the sizzling chemistry they had together. I liked reading about their forbidden love and truly rallied behind this couple as they strive to work together to rescue Warin’s sister. Though this book ends with a positive note, it is definitely open-ended and I hope that Ms. Lane writes more about Warin and Benedict in the future.

If you are in the mood for a well-written historical romance with plenty of intrigue and erotic moments between two fascinating heroes then Sorcerer’s Lover is definitely an excellent choice for you!

Highly Recommended!

Reviewed By: Gabbi

Click HERE to purchase Sorcerer’s Lover by Shawn Lane

Leave a Reply

