Sophie Reviews: Something In The Way He Needs by Cardeno C.


Title: Family, Book 1: Something in the Way He Needs
Author: Cardeno C.
Publisher: The Romance Authors, LLC
Pages: 220
Characters: Asher Penaz, Daniel Tover
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: BDSM, Contemporary Romance, Series
Kisses: 2

Blurb:

Controlled Asher didn’t expect to fall for free-spirited Daniel, but they’ll find what they desperately need in one another.

Police captain Asher Penaz’s staunch professionalism bleeds into his home life, down to his neatly pressed attire and spartan apartment. He enjoys being in charge and in control, so his sudden and powerful attraction to the lighthearted, free-spirited Daniel Tover throws him for a loop. In his entire life, Daniel has never gotten what he needs, so he moves to the next place, the next job, the next attempt to find something worth staying for, always landing at the top of his game, but never feeling like he belongs.

The chemistry between Asher and Daniel sizzles, but with all that fire comes the risk of getting burned. As both men struggle to learn themselves while getting to know each other, the lines of desire and control blur. If Daniel and Asher can walk through the flames together, they might find what they desperately need.

Review:

I was shocked when I read this book. I actually bought this one because I’ve liked this author’s books in the past and I noticed somehow that I’d overlooked this series. I don’t know about the rest of the Family stories, but this I did not like this one at all.

I hated Asher. I thought he was a nothing but a big-assed jerk all through the story. He’s supposed to be this bad-ass Dom, but he comes across as a unlikable, selfish, insecure man. I never liked him. I didn’t like how he treated Daniel and I HATED what he did to Daniel toward the end. I don’t want to spoil it, but he gets into a ‘I’m more of a bad-ass Dom than you are’ with another Dom in a club. His compromise to satisfy the other Dom in question was simply unacceptable.

After that my advice to Daniel would to RUN away as fast as you can.

I never believed Asher even liked and accepted Daniel. Daniel is better off being alone and Daniel’s brother, Oliver, was right to be alarmed that they were together.

Daniel is the reason why I finished this story. He’s a good man and sweet character. I liked him and he deserved so much better. He is the reason why this didn’t get a 1 kiss rating.

I’m not sure if I’m going to read the rest of the series. We will see. I might save my money and buy other books by her at a later time. There will be other people who will think this couple and Asher, himself, was great, and that I’m out of my mind for despising him like I do and I respect that. The author is a huge must buy one for me, but I’m sorry to say that this story did not do it for me.

Reviewed By: Sophie

Click HERE to Purchase this book

Leave a Reply

