Gabbi Reviews: Slow Heat by Leta Blake


Title: Slow Heat
Author: Leta Blake
Publisher: Leta Blake Books
Pages: 350
Characters: Jason Sabel, Vale Aman
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Paranormal, Series, Romance
Kisses: 5+

Blurb:

A lustful young alpha meets his match in an older omega with a past.

Professor Vale Aman has crafted a good life for himself. An unbonded omega in his mid-thirties, he’s long since given up hope that he’ll meet a compatible alpha, let alone his destined mate. He’s fulfilled by his career, his poetry, his cat, and his friends.

When Jason Sabel, a much younger alpha, imprints on Vale in a shocking and public way, longings are ignited that can’t be ignored. Fighting their strong sexual urges, Jason and Vale must agree to contract with each other before they can consummate their passion.

But for Vale, being with Jason means giving up his independence and placing his future in the hands of an untested alpha–as well as facing the scars of his own tumultuous past. He isn’t sure it’s worth it. But Jason isn’t giving up his destined mate without a fight.

This is a stand alone gay romance novel, 118,000 words, with a strong happy ending, as well as a well-crafted, non-shifter omegaverse, with alphas, betas, omegas, male pregnancy, heat, and knotting. Content warning for pregnancy loss and aftermath

Review:

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I started this book. I admit the blurb peaked my interest, so I was anxious to read it. I’ve read many shifter romances so I expected for this story to be good, but what I wasn’t expecting was how fascinating and addictive this story became for me. Between the fresh story-line and the captivating heroes, Slow Heat has easily become one of my all-time favorite paranormal/shifter reads.

Ms. Blake created an alluring world of tantalizing characters with an intriguing backstory and a well-thought out society these heroes live in. I found myself really wrapped up into the traditions and expectations these characters lived by and quickly became invested into their fascinating lives.

As you know, I’m a big fan of May/December romances. I’ve read many, and some are better than others. In Slow Heat, Ms. Blake really tackles this head on without sugarcoating any issues this couple has AND will possible have in the future. As a reader, I appreciated this very much. Both Jason and Vale and the secondary characters really give their age gap a lot of thought and consideration. What I liked about it was they are able to forge through this head on and become a stronger couple because of it.

Both Jason and Vale are well-written characters. In actuality, ALL of the characters in this story really bring something special to the story itself. They are easy to care for and become invested into their lives.

Throughout the story both Jason and Vale do a lot of self-growth and evolve as people. Jason truly becomes a man and Vale learns that change can be a very good thing. I loved how these two men really became the most important part in each others’ lives and I adored how they learn to communicate, respect and truly love AND like one another.

All in all, Slow Heat is an addictive read that left this reader wanting more! I cannot wait to see what happens next in series! As far as I’m concerned, Ms. Blake can’t write it fast enough! If you are craving a well-written romance filled with a fascinating story-line, then Slow Heat is definitely a book not to be missed.

Highly Recommended!

Reviewed By: Gabbi

Click HERE to purchase Slow Heat by Leta Blake

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

