Sophie Reviews: A Taste of Honey by Ari McKay


Title: A Taste of Honey
Author: Ari McKay
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Pages: 88
Characters: Boone Phillips, Rob Coombs
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Contemporary Romance
Kisses: 2

Blurb:

2nd Edition

Boone Phillips needs a girlfriend—now! If he shows up to the family reunion alone, his mother will throw every woman in sight at him. But the only “woman” Boone trusts enough to ask is Honey, the drag queen alter ego of his best friend, Rob. It’s a crazy idea, but Boone is desperate.

Boone wins Rob over to the idea after first going on a “date” with him as Honey, but everything feels different once the plan is set in motion. Between nosy relatives, illegal moonshine, and the sight of Rob in white lace panties, Boone starts to wonder if he’s as straight as he thought. When an earth-shattering kiss sends Rob running, however, Boone learns some surprising things about both his family and himself. Now he needs to convince Rob to give him another chance, or his first taste of Honey might also be his last.

First Edition published by Torquere Press, 2016.

Review:

The catchy blurb caught my eye. I’m a sucker for best-friends-to-lovers romance so reading A Touch of Honey was kind of a no-brainer for me. If you are in the mood for an uncomplicated, light read with good-natured heroes, then this book might be for you.

I liked Rob and Boone’s friendship. I even enjoyed the easy banter they shared between them. I guess my problem with their relationship is the almost non-issue of Rob being ‘straight’ and suddenly over the course of a few days, can’t resist Boone and wants to be with him. HUH?
Sorry, I just didn’t buy it.

Yes, it’s true that Rob does a little soul searching and discovers he isn’t as straight as he thought…or is it that he just wants Boone because Honey is so irresistible? By the end of the book, I didn’t know. I think the story could have used more depth. I would have really liked for Rob and Boone to truly explore their feelings. Instead, I thought the storyline itself was rushed and because of it, I felt a little cheated by the quickness of it all.

As a southerner I had to roll my eyes at the ‘typical’ southern mother and family. Ugh. It would have been nice for the author to have stepped out of the usual stereotype and write something a little more unique and not so cookie-cutter.

All in all the book is a decent read. If you want a quick and easy read this one is for you.

Reviewed By: Sophie

Click HERE to enter the Dreamspinner Press homepage

Leave a Reply

