Gabbi Reviews: Demon Prince by SJ Frost


Title: Paranormal Nobles, Book 3: Demon Prince
Author: SJ Frost
Publisher: MLR Press
Pages: 180
Characters: Sytri, Basil Warrick
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Paranormal Romance, Series
Kisses: 4.5

Blurb:

As a prince of demons, Sytri’s existence has been for one thing, power. He’s gained that in the demon realm, but his pursuit of it cost him something far greater…something he didn’t realize the value of until it was gone. When he first met vampire prince, Basil Warrick, in an instant he saw—and desired—to have once again all that he’d lost; friendship, companionship…love.

Basil has lived for more than three hundred years, and quietly carries the scars left by the vampire who turned him. Connecting with others has never been easy for him, but Sy’s sensual charm is more than he can resist. He knows Sy’s history of betrayal, and the demon is exactly what he shouldn’t want in his life, and yet, Sy is all he wants.

The return of an old enemy of Basil’s brings painful memories and danger to him, and a new enemy of Sy’s threatens to take away what he’s gaining in his life. If their lives are to be eternally bound, the two princes must overcome the threats and challenges before them.

Review:

When it comes to comfort reads, there are some authors I will reach for when I’m in need a pick-me-up or just for a sexy and well-written romance. SJ Frost is one of those authors that I find myself reading and re-reading her stories time and time again. I’m pleased to say that her newest book, Demon Prince is another favorite of mine and I’m already looking forward to the next book in the series.

Demon Prince is the third book in the Paranormal Nobles series. This series is one of my favorites because of Ms. Frost’s fresh take on a well-loved genre AND the fact that as the series progress all of her main characters that I’ve come to love in previous novels, play an important part of each story written.

I’ve been looking forward to Basil’s book. He’s always been a bit of a mystery to me. He’s been such a likeable, wonderfully flawed and very sexy character. I was very pleased by his continued drive to the right thing as well as his willingness to follow his heart and fall in love with Sy, who is a demon. As a general rule, Vampires and Demons do not get along that well in Ms. Frost’s creative world. Neither being really trusts the other and because of some bad blood in the past, they really don’t get along very well.

Sy himself is a Demon Prince who doesn’t always do the right thing…after all he is a demon, but what makes Sy likeable is his heart. Though he probably wouldn’t want this told, Sy finds himself falling in love with Basil and he even wants to be part of the close-nit, makeshift family that Basil belongs too. *he’d probably never really admit it though…lol* I particularly enjoyed Sy’s determination to have Basil in his life and enjoyed watching the roguish demon fall in love with one of my favorite vampires.

Though I liked Sy, I have to admit that Sal is and probably will always be my favorite vampire. *His story is Book 2 in the series* Sy doesn’t have the sexy mischievousness that Sal has but he’s still an intriguing character.

This is going to probably sound strange, but I did have some problems with the two demons names…Sy and Sal being so similar that sometimes I found myself being confused on who was saying what…especially when they shared time together in the story. This is probably a non-issue for most people, but for me it sometimes confused me so much it brought me out of the story.

In the end, I loved this book. You can’t help but get emotionally attached to these amazing characters and get wrapped up in the story they had to tell. I cannot wait to read the next book in the series and easily recommend this book and this series to anyone who loves a paranormal romance.

The Paranormal Nobles series in book order are:

Vampire Prince
Demon Duke
Demon Prince

Highly Recommended!

Reviewed By: Gabbi

Click HERE to purchase Demon Prince by SJ Frost

Leave a Reply

