Pippa Reviews: Wounded Pride by Remmy Duchene and BL Morticia


Title: Wounded Pride
Authors: Remmy Duchene & BL Morticia
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Pages: 206
Characters: Renford and Brian
POV: Third
Sub-Genre: Contemporary
Kisses: 3.5

Blurb:

Renford Kline is straight… right? He got over his experimentation in college and moved on. Then how does he explain his blush-inducing fantasies about Brian Daystar? Fantasies he’s having when he should be focused on his career move from attorney to professor. When Brian comes to New York, Renford knows he’s in trouble. Everything about Brian attracts him—from his tight body to his beautiful, dark hair—but Renford is straight… right?
Brian Daystar needs a break. He’s been working nonstop to turn his Montana ranch into a safe haven for at-risk youth—so much so that he can’t even bring himself to care when he finds out his partner, country star Corey, is cheating on him. Their relationship has been over for a long time, but it might take his feelings for Renford to make Brian accept it.
Both men have decisions to make. Renford must come to terms with who he truly is, and Brian is going to have to decide if he will shun his happiness or embrace it.

Review:

The 3.5 rating reflects the fact there are things I really like about Wounded Pride, and things I’m not so keen on. Good things first. It was an entertaining if fairly simple plot. Nothing wrong with that at all. It was fast-paced and easy to follow. I would probably have found it easier if I’d read the first book in the series, Wounded Hearts, but there were enough explanations without info-dumping.

I liked the contrast between the two men; hard-working country boy and sophisticated, wealthy urban man, and I thought the secondary characters and the interactions between them were well written. The two authors have created a vibrant universe.

The dialogue was the thing that bugged me most. Sometimes it was very good, other times quite childish. I think the authors could do with tightening the conversation between their main characters. I liked Brian’s dialogue with anyone except Renford, which defeats the object of the book.

The last thing I want to talk about is Renford’s confusion with his sexual identity. This hit me on a personal level. I know it is unfair to bring one’s own issues to the table when reviewing, but I understand his confusion. I’ve been there. I’m pleased the authors did bring bisexuality into the story, and that there were no easy answers. I felt sometimes we were on a merry-go-round inside Renford’s head, but I understand that too.

I feel the storyline could have been tightened up to make it less rambling but it was a pleasant read.

Reviewed By: Pippa Wood

Click HERE to enter the Dreamspinner Press Website

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Wounded Pride 3.5 stars from Top to Bottom | BLMorticia Erotica With Snark

Leave a Reply

