Gabbi Reviews: The Cookie Said Red by JD Walker


Title: The Cookie Said Red
Author: JD Walker
Publisher: JMS Books
Pages: 38
Characters: Cisco Boyd, Benjy McCrae
POV: 1st *Through Cisco’s POV*
Sub-Genre: Contemporary Romance
Kisses: 4

Blurb:

Cisco Boyd believes in fortune cookies and horoscopes. Despite his lack of success in finding a steady boyfriend — or at least, a date who doesn’t think Denny’s is the epitome of haute cuisine — Cisco never doubts that eventually, the stars will lead him to the man of his dreams.

One day after a meal, Cisco reads the little piece of paper inside his cookie which says “red is the color of your heart’s desire.” So, when Cisco’s date turns up wearing a red shirt, he’s ecstatic. But then, things turn ugly in his apartment, and Cisco has to call the front desk for assistance from his bathroom, where he’s locked himself in.

Benjy McCrae, head of security, comes to his rescue and Cisco is very grateful. And then he notices Benjy’s red tie. Cisco’s “heart’s desire” has been under his nose all along. The stars are finally in his favor.

Review:

JD Walker writes quick and satisfying reads. She is still a fairly new author for me, so I’m steadily beginning to enjoy her stories. All of them have been short tales that give me an hour or so of pure escapism and enjoyment and I look forward to reading more stories by her.

Cisco was a fun character to meet. He’s flamboyant and flirty and a little flighty. His determination to meet the right guy, as well as his belief in horoscopes made him a likeable character. Cisco is one of those friends you have that you adore, but at times, would drive you crazy with his overt and loud personality. Cisco finds himself not always making the right decisions and getting himself in trouble because of it and though I wanted to roll my eyes at some of his antics, I ended up liking him and I found myself rooting for him to find his true love.

Though I liked Cisco, I really loved Benjy. He’s the strong and silent type that has more to him than meets the eye. His caring disposition and the way he looks out and takes care of Cisco really stole my heart.

I liked the chemistry between Cisco and Benjy and really enjoyed the flirtatious banter they shared between them…especially after they got to know one another. Cisco’s flightiness got on my nerves a tad, but I still liked him and really enjoyed him and Benjy together. I enjoyed this short story, I just wish there had been more of it. I would have loved to see how Cisco and Benjy’s relationship continue to develop…but that’s just me.

The Cookie Said Red is a short and sexy story and easy to recommend if you are looking for a fast-paced read with unique and interesting characters.

Recommended!

Reviewed By: Gabbi

Click HERE to purchase The Cookie Said Red

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: Awesome review for “The Cookie Said Red” :) | Life By Jo

Leave a Reply

