Gabbi Reviews: #ChristmasHatesYouToo by E.F. Mulder

Title: #ChristmasHatesYouToo
Author: EF Mulder
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Pages: 66
Characters: Noel Beebe, Hung Liu
POV: 1st
Sub-Genre: Holiday, DSP Advent Calendar 2016
Kisses: 4.25

Blurb:

Born December 25, Noel Beebe is tired of having his birthday overshadowed by all things Christmas. While looking for love on social media, he comes across a prospective new beau just in time to celebrate the Big 3-0, someone who encourages him to take back his day and say thumbs down to Christmas! On a trip to the Big Apple, Noel does just that, flipping off the Rockefeller Center tree and demanding his coffee in a nondecorative paper cup as a fun birthday prank. His act of defiance is caught on video and soon goes viral, leading to a backlash all over the Twitterverse, Internet, and TV. Suddenly what Noel thought would be his best birthday—and even Christmas—yet is shaping up to be his worst. Can his family and his potential boyfriend prove to the world that Noel isn’t the Scrooge he’s been labeled?

Review:

When I saw the cover of this book, I knew I had to read it. I also was intrigued by the premise of the story and I found myself really anxious to read it.

My sister was born in mid December. Because of this, I’ve watched her have to celebrate a sometimes mediocre birthday because Christmas *and the expense of it* was just around the corner. Heck, my birthday falls usually the day or two before the school-year starts, so guess what I got…school clothes. *I always thought I was ripped off too…lol* It’s because of this, I felt like I could relate to the main character Noel.

Noel was born on Christmas day. Yep. That’s right. He’s never had a birthday without the theme of Christmas hanging over his head. In effort to reach out to other people who might suffer the same or similar thing going on in their lives he reaches out and joins a chat room and becomes friends with people who can relate to his problem.

Because of this, Noel finds friends who sympathize with him. When a picture is posted on social media of him not appreciating the Christmas spirit, soon it becomes viral and Noel becomes a hated man.

What I liked about this story was the realism of how social media has control of our lives more than we think. Also, I really enjoyed the chemistry between Hung and Noel. I was surprised by the few twists in the story-line and pleased the way everything turned out.

I do wish this story had been longer. I thought the story was a bit rushed at times, but for a short story it’s a highly satisfying one. #ChristmasHatesYouToo is a delightful, sexy romp that will leave you with a smile on your face.

Recommended!

Reviewed By: Gabbi

Click HERE to enter the Dreamspinner Press Website

Leave a Reply

