Gabbi Reviews: Andre in Flight by Laura Lascarso


Title: Andre in Flight
Author: Laura Lascarso
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Pages: 111
Characters: Martin Fonseca, Andre Bellamy
POV: 1st
Sub-Genre: Contemporary, Suspense
Kisses: 4

Blurb:

When up-and-coming Miami painter Martin Fonseca encounters youthful pretty boy Andre Bellamy washing dishes in the kitchen of La Candela, he swears he’s known him before, intimately. But Andre only arrived in Miami weeks ago, after running away from small-town Alabama and his abusive father. When Martin discovers Andre trading sexual favors for a place to stay, he offers him a room in his studio apartment. As roommates only.

What starts as a playful friendship turns into something more as Andre begins posing for Martin, whose true passion is painting fantastical portraits. Martin’s obsession with Andre grows until they are sharing more than just flirtatious conversation. But when an eccentric art collector buys one of Martin’s paintings, Martin’s past jealousies resurface and threaten to destroy what he and Andre have so lovingly built.

Review:

Andre in Flight is the first book I’ve read by Laura Lascarso. I’m always on the lookout for new-to-me authors and when I read the blurb for this book, I knew I had to read it. I’m glad I did. For one thing, I really enjoyed the writing style this author has. I was immediately gripped by the story itself and swept up into Martin’s life with Andre. I found myself pleasantly surprised at the twists and turns this story has and was intrigued by the unique and interesting story Ms. Lascarso had to tell.

The story is told in first person by Martin’s point of view. Though Martin is a sympathetic character and one that I enjoyed getting to know, I did feel a little cheated because we honestly don’t learn that much about Andre. Even by the end of the book, he was still mysterious and I would have loved to have known what he was thinking and even why he did some of the things he does.

What I did like about this book was the obvious emotional and physical connection these two men shared together. It was easy to see that they liked one another, even when the storyline takes an interesting turn of events.

There is a mystery to the book that definitely kept me on my toes. I can’t get into it very much because it would spoil it, but I will say that things are not what they seem and the past does come up and haunt their lives in more ways than one.

Though I liked this book a lot, I did feel at times that the story was rushed. I wish it had been more flushed out at the end and I would have liked to know more about the mysterious aspect of the book itself, but all in all I thought the author did a good job at making this reader captivated by the lives of these characters.

If you are looking for a solid romance with a unique backstory this is definitely the book for you. I really enjoyed getting to meet these two characters and hope the author will revisit them again one day.

Recommended.

Reviewed By: Gabbi

Click HERE to enter the Dreamspinner Press Website

Leave a Reply

