Gabbi Reviews: Not a Game by Cardeno C.

Title: Not a Game
Author: Cardeno C.
Publisher: The Romance Authors, LLC
Pages: 115
Characters: Oliver Barnaby, Jaime Snow
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Contemporary Romance
Kisses: 5


An accidental meeting and a misunderstanding lead to a life-altering connection.

A new job, a new city, and hopefully a new life. When chubby gamer Oliver Barnaby receives a job offer from the best boutique game developer in the country, he leaves his family and his less than spectacular existence in Oklahoma without a second’s hesitation. Determined to change more than his career and his geography, Oliver implements a plan to finally land a boyfriend. Step one is improving his skills in the bedroom.

A life that looks perfect on paper, but feels empty in reality. Attractive, successful, charismatic Jaime Snow has a life other people envy. His already booming business is growing. He isn’t lacking in friends. And he has no trouble finding a date. But there’s an emptiness in Jaime’s heart and a hole in his life that only the right man can fill.

An accidental meeting, a misunderstanding, and falling in love. When Oliver and Jaime end up at the same bar at the same time, they each see something they want in the other. Going to bed together that first night is easy. Building the lifetime relationship they both desperately crave will require trust, time, and a little misunderstanding.


Whenever I need a pick-me-up I’ll reach for a book written by Cardeno C.. As a reader, one of the things I appreciate about her stories is her gift at writing real-to-me characters that live with me long after I finish reading their story.

I loved this book because both of the heroes are likeable men. Not only are they truly ‘nice’ guys, I adored the way they learn to communicate, become friends and eventually fall in love. Their story was a memorable and lovely thing to read. I also enjoyed how different Oliver is compared to most romantic heroes. He doesn’t have a perfect body, is terribly shy at times and has low self-esteem about his body. To me, Oliver is a fresh take on your everyday hero. I LOVED the fact that Jamie was attracted to Oliver and he appreciated him for who he really is and honestly didn’t want to change him. I also liked how through Jamie’s eyes, Oliver is able to see himself for the attractive man he is, despite society’s narrow standards.

I could understand why both men were made for each other. I loved the way these two men really connected on a emotional level and share a friendship and a respect for each other that really resonated with me as a reader. As with all of this author’s stories, Not a Game, is written with a lot of heart and romance and I loved every minute I spent reading about these two incredible men. Now, I can’t wait until Jack’s story!!

If you are looking for a feel-good, sexy and thoughtful read, then Not a Game is definitely the book for you!

Highly Recommended!

Reviewed By: Gabbi

Click HERE to purchase Not a Game by Cardeno C.

Leave a Reply

