Gabbi Reviews: The Great Unicorn Hunt Begins by Stephani Hecht


Title: The Great Unicorn Hunt Begins
Author: Stephani Hecht
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Pages: 78
Characters: Charlie, William
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Paranormal, Shapeshifter, Series
Kisses: 3.5




Blurb:

Charlie is a happy Unicorn. He has a place to live, all the sugar he could ask for, friends, and he’s safe. Or, at least he was until some Vampire put a billion dollar bounty on his head. Not wanting to put his friends in danger, Charlie leaves and makes a run for it on his own.

Ever since William was cursed with immortality, he knew he’d never be able to find someone to love. But one look at Charlie challenges that thought and sends William’s life spinning.

Will William be able to rescue Charlie? Or was their love doomed from the very beginning?

Review:

The Great Unicorn Hunt Begins is the second book in the Little Monsters series by Stephani Hecht. I admit that I haven’t read the first book in the series, but after reading this one, I plan to rectify that soon.

One reason I liked this book was the classic humor that Ms. Hecht writes. She has a very creative mind and builds the paranormal world(s) her characters live in a way that is both unique and easy to follow. I really enjoyed the world of these not so common monsters that we normally see in this genre. I found myself laughing out loud from the banter William had with his sister Lliassa as well as with Charlie. I also enjoyed the attraction between William and Charlie and quite frankly, was enamored with Charlie *who is the unicorn* himself.

I liked how Charlie wasn’t one to be pushed around. When he finds out there is a bounty on his head, he is able to defend himself and basically doesn’t take any crap from anyone. I thought he and William were a good match. William’s determination to protect Charlie *even when he doesn’t want to protected* was fun to read and I understood why William was basically enamored with Charlie from first sight.

There is also a lot of action in this book that kept this reader wondering what was going to happen next. I found myself really liking some of the secondary characters and I’m anxious to see what Ms. Hecht has in store for us next. I do wish the story had been fleshed out a little more. I thought the last few chapters was washed over and the ending felt rushed to me.

If you are looking for a creatively written romance with plenty of action along with heroes who are both unique and sexy, The Great Unicorn Hunt Begins is definitely for you. Ms. Hecht has definitely started an interesting and unique series filled with memorable characters that readers will fall in love with.

Recommended!

Reviewed By: Gabbi

Click HERE to purchase The Great Unicorn Hunt Begins

Leave a Reply

