Gabbi Reviews: The Cattle Baron’s Bogus Boyfriend by Nicki Bennett


Title: The Cattle Baron’s Bogus Boyfriend
Author: Nicki Bennett
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Pages: 216
Characters: Jonah Hollis, Lincoln Courtwright
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Contemporary, Western Romance
Kisses: 3

Blurb:

It might be a sham to his boss, but it’s all too real to him.

Administrative assistant Jonah Hollis has nurtured a hopeless crush on his boss, millionaire cattle rancher Lincoln Courtwright, ever since he started working for him. But hope is kindled when Linc and beautiful rodeo star Melissa Cutler break up just weeks before the biggest event of the Dallas social season, the Cattle Baron’s Ball, and Linc asks Jonah to accompany him in her place.

Is it all a ploy to make Melissa jealous? Can Jonah fit into Linc’s world? It takes some encouragement from his roommates and his best friend, Caylee, for Jonah to agree. Before long, Jonah dares to believe Linc might just feel something for him… until interfering family and a series of misunderstandings threaten his fragile dream of happiness.

Review:

The Dreamspun Desires collection of stories are a lot of fun to read. I’ve enjoyed all of them and if you like Harlequin romances, then this is definitely a line you should check out.

To my knowledge I’ve not read anything written by this author. It’s apparent she can write intense attraction and even passion between her characters. I even found myself really liking both of the main heroes, Jonah and Linc. Both men are sexy, intelligent and all around interesting characters.

The first half of the book was great. I loved the sexual chemistry that sizzled between the two men. Also, the story itself was sweet and well-paced and I found myself really intrigued with the story Jonah had to tell. (The story is told through his eyes)

I think it was the big misunderstanding that made me cringe. Now, don’t get me wrong, I understand there has to be some kind of problem the men have to work through, but Jonah’s overreaction and then his solution with his best friend made me want to smack him a good one. Even when Linc finally tells Jonah what a fool he is, it wasn’t enough to save it completely for me. The last quarter of the story was a little too much for me. It was wrapped up a little too easy for me.

Having said this, I still liked this book. I just wish I could have loved it. Still, The Cattle Baron’s Bogus Boyfriend is a feel good read and will satisfy readers who crave a sweet and sexy romance.

Reviewed By: Gabbi

Click HERE to enter the Dreamspinner Press Website

Leave a Reply

