Gabbi Reviews: Always Forgotten by LM Brown


Title: Always Forgotten
Author: LM Brown
Publisher: Fireborn Publishing
Pages: 162
Characters: Caleb, Ethan
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Fantasy, Romance
Kisses: 4


Blurb:


Cursed by a warlock, Caleb is doomed to watch everyone he has sex with instantly forget him as soon as they leave his presence. The spell may be broken when a man remembers him. Could Ethan be the one to break the curse?

Caleb has been cursed for two hundred years. He is doomed to watch every man he has sex with forget him as soon as they part company. Each of his lovers then meets their true love within hours of leaving his presence. As rumours about his strange ability spread, more and more men come to his bed, hoping to find love–just not with him.

When Ethan’s best friend makes him an appointment with the mysterious Caleb, Ethan is skeptical but curious. Despite a shaky start, Ethan and Caleb connect sexually and emotionally then soon begin to wonder if Ethan has the power to break the curse by being the only one to remember Caleb after he leaves.

Whether Ethan remembers Caleb or not, with a warlock standing between them, the road to happiness is going to be tough.

Review:

Always Forgotten by LM Brown has a very creative story-line in which I’ve come to expect when I’m privileged to read anything by this author. She has a knack of telling interesting, unique stories that are very enjoyable.

Since the blurb does an excellent job at describing the story, I won’t bore you with rehashing it. Instead, I thought I’d talk about why I liked this book and why I’d recommend it.

To my knowledge, I’ve never read a story such as this one. Sure, I’m a fan of movies like 50 First dates and others where the hero or heroine can’t remember the person who is and who they love the next day. I thought this was going to be in interesting concept for a romance novel and wondered how Ms. Brown would approach the subject and still make it a fresh and creative read. In my opinion, I thought the author did a great job at coming up with an interesting story and backstory as to where I found myself truly wondering how these two men would be able to work through Ethan’s memory loss of Caleb the next day. In the end, I found myself truly fascinated by the way these two men handled their problem, as well as, bringing up realistic issues of the difficulty of keeping a relationship like they have going in a positive direction.

The two men have intense physical chemistry that really resonated with me as a reader. Ms. Brown knows how to write sex scenes and I have to say I enjoyed reading them. The attraction was definitely there and I had no problem believing the heroes enjoyed each other on a physical level.

I also really liked the intimate conversations they had together. It was clear why they would like and even fall in love with one another. As far as romances go, this book delivered what I expect the most when it comes to reading romances.

The one thing I did miss was the backstory of both Caleb and Ethan. We don’t learn a whole lot about Caleb’s past except for his reputation as a love-em-and-leave-em kind of man. I found myself really wanting to know more about his past life and more about the man himself. Even in the end, I thought some of these things toward the end was a little washed over. We learn more about Ethan, but I would have really liked to have seen these men truly talking and sharing their past with one another besides the generalization I felt was given.

Now please don’t get me wrong. Always Forgotten is an easy book to recommend. It is a good and very solid read with interesting characters that I found myself invested in. I’m definitely anxious to read more by LM Brown in the future. I liked her creative storytelling ability and sexy heroes.

Recommended!

Reviewed By: Gabbi

Click HERE to purchase Almost Forgotten

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Always Forgotten – New Review | L.M. Brown

Leave a Reply

