Gabbi Reviews: More Beautiful than a Unicorn by Bell Ellis


Title: More Beautiful Than A Unicorn
Author: Bell Ellis
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Pages: 38
Characters: Tobias, Amar
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Shifter, Romance
Kisses: 3

Blurb:

Tobias is a twenty-five-year-old virgin, bored with his life, and unsatisfied with how average and unremarkable he is—until he sees a silver unicorn. When the beautiful creature begins appearing to him regularly, Tobias doesn’t know if it’s a cruel joke or some form of mental illness. What interest could the unicorn have in someone like him? Searching for it in a park at night leads to an attack on Tobias, but he’s rescued by a handsome and mysterious man called Amar. Something about the man calls to Tobias, and suddenly his life feels a lot less ordinary and a lot less lonely. But fate can be harsh, and the biggest challenge to Tobias and Amar’s relationship has yet to reveal itself.

Review:

More Beautiful Than a Unicorn is a short and sweet story. I haven’t read many stories about Unicorns, so I was anxious to read this one.

I thought the storyline itself was interesting. I personally don’t know very much about unicorns, so I thought Amar’s backstory was a very creative, intriguing one. I could easily see why Tobias was so fascinated with him, because I too, found myself very curious about Amar and his unicorn side. I enjoyed the chemistry the two men had together, but because the story is told through Tobias eyes, we really don’t know much about Amar. I would have loved to have seen his viewpoint and truly experienced what he was going through, but I did become enamored with him because of Tobias’ feelings toward him, so that was a very good thing.

Tobias didn’t seem like a fully developed character. True, this is a short story, but he didn’t seem to have much depth to him at all. There were also times I thought he was a little too wishy-washy for my tastes, but all in all he was a good character, maybe just not a memorable one.

I also thought the ending was washed over a little too much. The author built up the importance of them finally being able to make love, yet it felt like it was just mentioned in an afterthought.

I liked this story, but I didn’t love it. Shame really, because I really liked the backstory the author created for Amar and would have loved it to have been fleshed out better. Having said this, More Beautiful Than a Unicorn is a uniquely told tale of a mysterious creature that I ended up enjoying. It was a nice way to spend an hour of my day and I’m glad I read it.

Reviewed By: Gabbi

Click HERE to enter the Dreamspinner Press Website

Leave a Reply

