Gabbi Reviews: Chevalier by Mary Calmes


Title: Chevalier
Author: Mary Calmes
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Pages: 118
Characters: Mason James, Luc
POV: 1st
Sub-Genre: Paranormal, Shapeshifter, Series, Romance
Kisses: 5

Blurb:

Sequel to Romanus

Fireman Mason James thought finding out he is a Romanus—a rare class of gargoyle—would be the surprise of a lifetime, but he’s proven wrong when he discovers he is the son of a comte and goji nobility. But his newly discovered family doesn’t think his gargoyle lover, Luc, is good enough for a goji of Mason’s stature—how could a warrior ever be? But despite the Moreaus’ uncertainty and elitism, they are Mason’s only chance to unravel the mystery behind his mother’s death, find a solution for the class divide that might separate him from Luc, and discover what it truly means to be a Romanus.

Review:

To say that I am a fan of Mary Calmes is pretty much an understatement. I read just about everything she has published and I’m always anxious for more. When I read Romanus, I truly hoped she would write more about these characters, so I was thrilled to see that she did continue Mason and Luc’s story.

Let me say that if you haven’t read the first book in this series, you definitely need too. Romanus is a book about the beginning of Luc and Mason’s relationship and how much Mason’s life changes after being a good-Samaritan to an elderly man in need. I do think it is necessary to read the first book to truly understand the dynamics between Mason and Luc as well as the beginning of Mason’s new life and existence.

As much as I enjoyed the first book, I have to say I loved this one even more. Not only is there the amazing chemistry between Luc and Mason we finally begin to understand Mason’s roots and they mystery behind him being a “Romanus“. I found myself enthralled with story and quickly became wrapped up in the suspense of Mason’s life and how he was going to be able to keep Luc as his mate.

The many twists and turns in this story was not only well-thought out, it is very easy to become engrossed within the lives of these two characters. I loved the backstory and the history of Mason’s clan and was fascinated by the fresh story-line and the love Mason and Luc share between them.

Chevalier by Mary Calmes is nothing short of a wonderfully written, rich and very romantic story that is an easy book to recommend. If you haven’t experienced Mary’s gargoyles, do yourself a favor and read both books now. This series is a highly entertaining, sexy read that will leave you wanting more. I love these characters and I hope Ms. Calmes will continue to write more about them in the future.

Highly Recommended!

Reviewed By: Gabbi

Click HERE To enter the Dreamspinner Press

Leave a Reply

