Gabbi Reviews: Hard Candy by Amy Jo Cousins


Title: Hard Candy
Author: Amy Jo Cousins
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Pages: 111
Characters: Vincent Lim, Bryan
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Contemporary Romance, Series
Kisses: 4.5

Blurb:

How to get over someone? Get under someone else—as soon as possible.

Bend or Break, Book 7

Vincent Lim always assumed his best friend (and occasional hookup) Austin would be waiting for him—that eventually they’d end up together. But now that Austin’s in love with another man, Vinnie is at a loss.

After the world’s most awkward one-night stand with a dance major, Vinnie knows the drill. Minimize the embarrassment by pretending they’ve never met. Yet Bryan’s vibrant spirit and calm center lure Vinnie like a shelter from an emotional storm.

But Vinnie’s thrown off his game by the rest of Bryan’s total package. Vinnie’s a rowing jock with a single-minded focus on living up to his parents’ academic and social expectations. Bryan might as well be outfitted with glittery butterfly wings—with plenty of pride to match. Vinnie’s haphazard attention to a lover won’t cut it this time.
Physically, they can match each other stroke for booty pop. But for the lovers to meet on common ground, they’ll have to find a way to get moving in the same direction.

Product Warnings

Contains one uptight rower, a dancer who can rock a skirt like nobody’s business, yoga lessons, and the benefits of being very bendy.

Review:

I walked into reading this series without realizing how much I’d enjoy it. Although this is the seventh book in the Bend or Break series, this is the first book I’ve read in the series. Believe me, after reading Hard Candy, I’m going to remedy the situation and catch up on the entire series.

Though I haven’t read the other books, I found myself easily following along in the world Ms. Cousin’s created. I probably missed out on some of the camaraderie between the other characters, but I do believe this book is definitely written well enough to be a stand-alone in the series. I normally, do not recommend reading books out of series order, I know I myself hate doing it, but this book is definitely good enough to read out of order if you wish.

I really liked both of the heroes. Both Vincent and Bryan were likeable men. There were a lot of things both characters hid from others. In some ways, like real life, we all have different shoes we wear when we are in the company of different people. It is a hard candy shell we all wear and sometimes when we are lucky enough to meet someone we trust and allow them to see our true selves, it can be a beautiful thing.

I highly enjoyed watching these two men discover not only themselves but each other. Together, they learn to trust, respect and truly allow themselves to be vulnerable. I thought they were a good match together and enjoyed reading their story very much.

Highly Recommended!

Reviewed By: Gabbi

Click HERE to purchase Hard Candy

Leave a Reply

