Gabbi Reviews: Loaded for Bear by Cheyenne Meadows


Title: Loaded for Bear
Author: Cheyenne Meadows
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Pages: 192
Characters: Graham Tundra, Trigger Mallow
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Shifter, Series
Kisses: 4

Blurb:

Shifter Hardball: Book Two

Polar bear shifter Graham Tundra can’t believe his bad luck. Not only is he traded to another baseball team midseason, but he’s also teamed up with Trigger Mallow: widely considered the best player in the game—but with the worst attitude.

Trigger is on the fence about Graham. As a grizzly bear shifter, he’s relieved to have another ursine on the team, even if they are different species. The problem is Trigger is in the middle of his natural mating season, and Graham looks too damn good to pass up.

What begins as friends with benefits shows potential to grow into a deeper connection. If only they can put aside their differences, learn to trust, listen to their feelings, and realize it’s more than just a bear thing.

Review:

Loaded for Bear by Cheyenne Meadows is a fun and sexy romp of a tale that left this reader with a smile of satisfaction on her face. To my knowledge, I haven’t read many books by Ms. Meadows and I plan on keeping an eye out for her books in the future.

I really liked the banter the two heroes had between them. Both bear shifters, they immediately clash when they first meet. Trigger is known for his surliness and gruff behavior both on and off of the baseball field and Graham is a likeable more laid back polar bear shifter who doesn’t take Trigger’s bluntness to heart.

I enjoyed watching these two men learn to communicate and truly get to know one another. There were times I found myself chuckling at some of the funny names they called each other and there were some lighthearted moments between them that made me smile. As their story continues, I got the sense that these men not only formed a friendship, but their relationship began to evolve into something special between them.

There were times I thought Trigger was truly a jerk, but I think that was also part of his appeal in some ways. I liked how Graham didn’t take any crap off of him and enjoyed watching Trigger’s softer more loving side come out. Loaded for Bear is a sweet and very sexy book and it would be a great book to read on a rainy afternoon.

Loaded for Bear is the second book in the Hardball series. This can definitely be read as a stand-alone in the series. I admit I haven’t read the first book and I found it very easy to jump into the story-line without feeling lost whatsoever. But, I will say, this is a very enjoyable book so I do plan on going back and reading the first book, Friends with Benefits soon. I enjoyed the creative world Ms. Meadows created and I’m interested in reading about the first couple in the series.

Recommended!

Reviewed By: Gabbi

Click HERE To enter the Dreamspinner Press Website

Leave a Reply

