Gabbi’s Reviews: Ocean of Secrets by Jerry Sacher


Title: Ocean of Secrets
Author: Jerry Sacher
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Pages: 200
Characters: Andrew Elliot, Matthew Ahearn
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Historical, Romance
Kisses: 3

Blurb:

Andrew Elliot, the son of a Scottish nobleman, is being sent to America, accompanied by his fiancée and her brother. But Andrew’s engagement is not a love match. His family insists that he marries to “cure” him of his feelings for the son of the caretaker on his father’s estate.

Matthew Ahearn leaves Ireland to pursue his dream of becoming a Texas cowboy. In London, a brush with the law almost derails his plans, but Matthew perseveres and lands a job as a third-class steward on a ship bound for America.

Andrew’s and Matthew’s worlds collide as they—and their secrets—are brought together in the magic of an ocean voyage, one that will never be forgotten.

The year is 1912, and they are about to board RMS Titanic….

Review:

Ocean of Secrets is the first book I’ve read by Jerry Sacher. I thought Mr. Sacher has a real knack for writing compelling characters and I found the story itself to be an interesting one. I admit I’ve always been intrigued by anything that has to do with the RMS Titanic, so I was quite interested in reading this book because I was curious to see how Mr. Sacher would tale the infamous shipwreck.

First, I thought the author did a good job at describing the setting of the book. I could easily visualize the ship itself and the ongoing activities that went on during the characters time on it. It’s very apparent that the author loves the stories and history of the ship, so it was enjoyable reading about the heroes meeting Molly Brown, Captain Smith and so on.

I also liked both of the heroes. Though they seem to be very different men from different stations in life, I thought they had good chemistry together and I enjoyed watching them quickly form a relationship and fall in love.

Sometimes I thought the conversations between the characters were a little stilted at times. Also, though this is the first gay romance I’ve read featuring the Titanic, the story was a little too familiar and it was something that was very predictable at times. There just wasn’t a lot of originality between the two men and the story they had to tell so it fell a little flat for me.

Please don’t get me wrong. Mr. Sacher is obviously a talented writer. There were times I did find myself totally engrossed within the story he told, but in the end I will admit Ocean of Secrets is a good book, just maybe not a memorable one.

Ocean of Secrets will definitely please those readers who love anything Titanic with a happy ending. Between the interesting setting and the story the heroes had to tell, Ocean of Secrets is definitely a pleasurable read and I know there will be many readers who will enjoy it.

Reviewed By: Gabbi

Click HERE to enter the Dreamspinner Press Website

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: The Reviews Keep Pouring In

Leave a Reply

