Gabbi Reviews: For Real by Alexis Hall


Title: For Real
Author: Alexis Hall
Publisher: Riptide Publishing
Pages: 437
Characters: Laurence Dalziel, Toby Finch
POV: Alternating First Person
Sub-Genre: BDSM, May-December, Romance
Kisses: 5

Blurb:

Laurence Dalziel is worn down and washed up, and for him, the BDSM scene is all played out. Six years on from his last relationship, he’s pushing forty and tired of going through the motions of submission.

Then he meets Toby Finch. Nineteen years old. Fearless, fierce, and vulnerable. Everything Laurie can’t remember being.

Toby doesn’t know who he wants to be or what he wants to do. But he knows, with all the certainty of youth, that he wants Laurie. He wants him on his knees. He wants to make him hurt, he wants to make him beg, he wants to make him fall in love.

The problem is, while Laurie will surrender his body, he won’t surrender his heart. Because Toby is too young, too intense, too easy to hurt. And what they have—no matter how right it feels—can’t last. It can’t mean anything.

It can’t be real.

Review:

For Real is the first book I’ve read by Alexis Hall and it won’t be my last. I really liked how the author was able to write sexy, flawed characters that lived and breathed off of the written page.

I like BDSM themed romances, but they can be tricky for me. There are times I feel the D/s couple doesn’t connect on an emotional level or I just don’t believe the couple is well written. Sometimes these seem a little one dimensional to me. It’s because of these reasons that brings me out of the story, so I admit I wondered how much I would enjoy reading this book, but since it was also a May/December romance, I knew I had to get it a try. I’m so glad I did! Not only was For Real a cover to cover without stopping read for me *trust me, give yourself plenty of time to read this book otherwise you’ll be losing a lot of sleep and you’ll be dragging around the next day* I was immediately swept up into these characters lives and the story they had to tell.

Laurence is a middle aged sub who is worn down by life. Because of his experience, it’s not easy to find a Dom who will truly take care of his needs both inside and outside of the bedroom. When Laurence spots a much younger man at the club, he instinctively knows the man is inexperienced and he finds himself approaching the younger man to both ease his curiosity about him and to warn him away from those who will not take the younger man seriously. As soon as he meets Toby, Laurence’s submissive nature kicks in. Before he knows it, Laurence is on his knees in front of Toby, giving the younger man the respect and submission he’s always craved.

Toby’s dream is to have an older submissive who will not only teach him the ways to be a good Dom; he wants someone who will connect with him on an emotional level. When Laurence goes to his knees in front of him, Toby is amazed that somehow he was able to get the older man’s attention at all. As the two men begin to form something special between them, their road to love and trust is not an easy one. Both Toby and Laurence must do a lot of soul searching and self-growth before they can truly become the amazing D/s couple they want to be.

I loved every minute I spent reading For Real. I enjoyed the slow buildup and watching these two men truly try to get this relationship to work. It’s not an easy task. Between their age difference and their trust issues, they had several bumps along the way. I loved the journey they took this reader on and I thought their relationship became a strong force to be reckoned with.

For Real is a Spires story and the first one I’ve read in this series. I can’t wait to read the rest. I’ve read that all of these are definitely a stand-alone in the series and I’m anxious to read more from this author.

If you are looking for a BDSM romance with characters that truly connect with one another, then For Real is definitely the book for you. I loved it and I know I’ll read it again when I’m in the mood for a well-written romance.

Highly Recommended!

Reviewed By: Gabbi

Click HERE to purchase For Real

Leave a Reply

