Roxy Reviews: Alicia Cameron’s – Demoted series

In a world where intellect and achievement are valued above all else, a young man risks everything to save his brother from a life of slavery. Thrown into a harsh, unyielding world where slaves are treated as less than animals, Sascha struggles to come to terms with everything he knows being ripped away from him, but a life of success could never prepare him for his life as one of the Demoted. Sinking lower and lower, Sascha begins to lose hope, but the whim of a mysterious, wealthy man has the potential to change all that.

Cashiel has a dark history that he guards carefully. Between family and business and politics, he rarely has time for a slave, much less a lover. But when he sees a young man who reminds him of the very history he is trying to escape, he makes an impulse decision that he’s not sure whether to regret or not. The slave could expose everything, or he could be the most valuable asset that Cashiel has ever acquired.

Cashiel and Sascha share desires, hopes, and a home. Each man is limited by status, hindered by history, and desperate to succeed. The question is, will that be enough?

 

 


Sascha’s world changed when Cashiel Michaud bought him, rescuing him from a brothel and a life of torture. They developed a sexual relationship, but can their relationship amount to more than that? Deceit, lies, and political scandal color not only their world, but their relationship, and dark figures from both men’s pasts threaten to intrude on the few moments of peace they have. A slave is never safe from harm, nor is an outcast family member. In the end, are Sascha and Cash strong enough to face the challenges, or will they be torn apart forever?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


After the news breaks about Cashiel Michaud’s involvement in research to undermine the Demoted system, he and Sascha find themselves detained as a legal case develops. Separated, they work from both sides to get released, making sacrifices and arrangements along the way. If they do reunite, will they be the same?

Sascha and Cash face a number of threats from the outside world, and some from the people closest to them. When they don’t know who to trust, their plans and their relationship are put to the test. And the results of this test could affect the world

 

 

 

 

 

 

This amazing and very edgy series written by Alicia Cameron can be bought by following this link to Forbidden Fiction. I have to say this…I am very happy to see a publisher allow it’s writers to go beyond the safeword and tell us the edgy, angst filled stories with wonderful plot lines. I get that some people are sensitive to certain situations and due to that, many publishers won’t allow or take these type of stories.  But for those of us who need more than the fluff, the overly sweet make my teeth hurt love stories, the OMG! If I read another perfect story I’m going to scream, type of thing, Forbidden Fiction AKA Fantastic Fiction fills that need in all the ways we love. In saying that- here we go on an interesting and very adventurous time with the stars of this series.  Cashiel  and Sascha. Talk about a strong couple who really tested my patience!

I didn’t know what to expect when I started reading this series written by Alicia. She’s a new one to me and so is her publisher. (Then again, there are so many publishers out here that it’ll be a while before I remember who is who.)  I read the blurb to the first story, Subjection and I KNEW I had to read it and begged for the others in the series. By chance I came across these by browsing the web and I’m thrilled I took the time to do that. Imagine my surprise when I found a publisher who published what I crave to read.  Now, this particular series is one I have to give a bitty warning to possible readers because we’re not supposed to add to what could be a shock factor. I personally don’t get it, but whatever.

We have Cashiel who is and lives as a freeman, and we have Sascha who is and lives as a slave. We’re not talking slaves of old, we’re speaking of population control slaves of the future. Demoted is what the government calls the men and women who don’t pass an assessment exam in highschool and slaves is what they become for the rest of their lives. Imagine being one. These kids take a test, just like kids in school do now, and the scores are used against them, and that’s what these people have for the rest of their lives. Good or bad, these kids don’t stand a chance. When they end us as a freeman’s slave, it’s anyone’s game. Truly! Some are treated well, others, such as Sascha- well not so much. He was bought by a whore house right out of the training facility when he was deemed as a Demoted citizen, or perhaps I should say slave. He spent a couple, few years there, went to the whore house was there for a bit, and then Cash bought him. Sascha is in his early twenties, so he’s a kid. He was seventeen when he became the subject of abuse and slavery.

All bars are crossed in the story very early on and I’m not even kidding. If you’re squeamish, if you do not like to see fictional characters that are “real” to you be hurt- as in whipped or raped or degraded- then you need to stop and find something else. There were times while reading this story, by story I mean the series, where I’d get frustrated, mad, sad, shocked, happy all of it.  The author held very little, if anything, back and that’s what made it one hell of a story! I believe in breaking boundaries in fictional stories, just like many of us at T2B do…and to be able to actually read this without worry that I couldn’t talk about it when I was done, was a treat.

Let me get back on track without rehashing the blurbs.  Once I picked the reader up and was a chapter into the first one, I couldn’t and didn’t want to stop reading, not even to cook and take care of the kids, never mind the other half.  We get to spend a lot of time in both characters heads throughout the entire story and come to understand them, feel them, get mad with and at them, maybe even love them but what you don’t ever feel, well what I didn’t ever feel was angry at the writer for putting these characters through the mental and physical abuse that she did. If the future were to really end up like this, people would in fact act just like the author described. Lets just admit it, people are worse than animals. They pick on what they don’t understand or like. They kill when they are afraid. They run out of fear. I can’t see how many people are better than a pack of wild animals to be honest. Well, in the story the characters are just like people! So, it’s very believable.

Sadly Sascha was mistreated the whole time he was being trained by the “Miller system,” on being a good sex slave. OMG! The torture he endured and the hell he lived, wow! It really made me sad for him and his new master at the start was a standoffish type of guy. He bought the slave because it was what was normal and thankfully Cash wasn’t like anyone else. That and he really wanted to prove a point to his self. He hated seeing what was being done to the good looking younger man, saw the physical scars and decided to do something about it. Sorta for face and sorta for Sascha.  Once they get home, Cashiel is very private, he avoids his slave, he won’t go near him actually but he takes great care of him. I mean we really see into these characters in ways I haven’t felt in a long time. I love to feel them, and this story had me, as I stated already, feel.

There’s a big secret that Cash is hiding and when Sascha finds out what that is, it threatens to destroy the bridge the two have built to live as slave and master. As the story goes on we see Cash get arrested, we see Sascha willingly go to a sadistic asshole who rapes him, beats him, and calls it all a game. The rich do what they want, even as they do now, and the man responsible for many of the bad things that happen to these two, is one of the rich. Then Cash’s mother! She’s something else and I hate her. Hate her passionately and when I got to the middle of the second one I wanted her dead.  There were times I hated Cash. OMG! I mean, he’s stubborn and he loves his slave and he allows his rich friend to abuse his property, his slave, his everything for the sake of ? And I did the ? on purpose because I do not want to give anything away. Which is why I’m rambling on here. I hate to give anything away.

I will say this…IF you enjoy angst and such, grab yourself a copy of this series and give the author a chance. She’s skilled at her craft and I enjoyed reading her stuff. Editing is fine, no holes but this…the ending of the last one, left me hanging a bit and I’ve been watching for a fourth one…I haven’t emailed her or asked her, but I will.

Just this last thing…Read it and hold on, then let us know what you think. There are a few shorts written with the two characters that I haven’t read, yet…but I’m sure Syrus, the hottie bodyguard in the third book, isn’t in them…and he’s also a lover of the other two..the third one is where we see the author tackle the menage. IMPRESSIVE! And don’t worry….Sascha ends up a uhhh, spoiled one? LOL! Here’s the link to the series in case you would like to try them out….HERE

Roxy

Leave a Reply

