Gabbi Reviews: Setting his Owl A-Twitter by Charlie Richards


Title: Wolves of Stone Ridge, Book 33: Setting his Owl A-Twitter
Author: Charlie Richards
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Pages: 106
Characters: Hector and Rocky
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Paranormal, Shifter Romance, Series
Kisses: 3

Blurb:

Out of the Cage: Lifting the spirits of another can lift your own spirits, too.

Hector is fresh out of a cage for the first time in his memory. Learning about the world is exciting and scary, and he looks forward to experiencing life. While out having fun with his flock-mates, Hector runs across a human, Rocky, who smells amazing and makes his Scops owl flutter wildly inside his mind. Except, the guy turns down his request to dance. He learns later that Rocky is a bouncer, so he’s at the bar working. Wanting to catch him either before or after his shift, Hector begins to regularly frequent the club. Unfortunately, that earns him the reputation of being a party-boy, which causes Rocky to keep his distance. The human claims he has responsibilities which a partier wouldn’t understand. How can Hector, so new to freedom, convince Rocky that he can handle responsibility when the human won’t even tell him what it is?

Review:

Setting His Owl A-Twitter by Charlie Richards is a sweet and sexy addition to the Wolves of Stoneridge series. Ms. Richards has a true knack of writing interesting characters with fast paced stories that are nothing short of being guilty pleasures.

One of the things I liked about this book was Hector. Hector is an owl shifter who has been abused most of his life. He’s innocent and sweet and as I learned more about him, his angelic sweetness really pulled at my heartstrings as a reader. When Hector meets Rocky, he’s immediately drawn to the handsome man because all of his instincts tell him that Rocky is Hector’s mate. Rocky is a good guy. He was an easy man to like and I understood why Hector was so enamored with him.

As sweet as this story was I guess I as I read it, I felt like I was missing something. Please don’t get me wrong, this is classic Charlie Richards and those who love her stories will definitely like this book, but I couldn’t help but wish there was something more between the two characters. I know shifter stories have a fast-love-conquers all storyline, but I really, really wish their relationship had moved at a slower pace and would have loved watching something richer develop between them. I thought the story was too washed over in places and although Hector was adorable, he wasn’t cute enough for me to truly love this story as I have so many of her others.

Setting His Owl A-Twitter
is a good story, it’s just not one of my favorites by her. I’m definitely looking forward to reading more by Ms. Richards and I can recommend this book to those who love this series and author as well.

Reviewed By: Gabbi

Click HERE to buy Setting his Owl A-Twitter

Leave a Reply

