Top 2 Bottom Author Interview JC Calciano ( Enter to win the movie, book, and soundtrack~)

10ypbookfinal

What is The 10 Year Plan all about and where did the original idea come from?

The 10 Year Plan is about two friends who make a plan to be together in 10 Years if still single. It’s based on a true story about me and my two best friends who made a pact with each other to one day get together. Ten years after their agreement, each came over to me and said, “I love him but I’m not sure if I want to be in a relationship with him – HELP!” I laughed at the mess they got themselves into and thought; this is a great idea for a movie!

This is the first time you’ve written a novel based on one of your movies. What made you decide to do it?

The original script for THE 10 YEAR PLAN had several scenes that I couldn’t put in the movie because of time and budget restrictions. One such scene was the origin story on how the lead characters met. There was so much fun stuff in the story (and some sexy scenes) that I decided to add it into a book rather than the film. The book has everything I wanted to add but couldn’t.

Will you do it again in the future?

Yes, I would!  I just attended my second male/male romance book convention and had an amazing time.  The fans are so welcoming and fun and there are so many wonderful readers there who are so excited to meet their favorite authors – each time I meet fans and get positive feedback about my book and my movies I get very inspired to write more. My plan (if the book of THE 10 YEAR PLAN) sells well is to write “IS IT JUST ME?” and “eCUPID” into books next.

What would you say to a budding M/M writer?

I would advice every writer – either of a book or a screenplay to do the same thing: READ. Find a favorite writer and see how they write, their style and think about what makes them wonderful? What is it about their writing that appeals to you? Once you’ve done that, stop and think about what it is that you have to say to the world. What’s your point of view on things? What’s the message and story you want to convey to your readers? A writer needs to create their own style and tell your own stories, but I think it all comes from a knowledge base of what others have done in the past. Stories and people that have inspired and excited you.

How do you feel about the future of books? More e-books or will print always be around?

Books aren’t going anywhere. Nothing is as fertile and wonderful as your own imagination. Readers will always read. Whether paperbacks will continue to be popular or not is another question. I love reading on paper and I know a lot of people do too, but the e-readers are getting so good now and convenient that it’ll be tough to compete with that technology.

What do you prefer to read? E books , blogs, magazines or print?

I love blogs. As a filmmaker, I love pictures videos and stories. Blogs also have an immediate nature about them that print doesn’t have. That said, nothing is as wonderful with curling up with a good old narrative paperback book.

On those days you’re in a funk, what do you do to get back to the keyboard?

Funky days make it impossible to write for me. When I can’t write, I clean the apartment. My husband will often come home to a clean apartment and laugh and say, “Had a hard time writing today?”    (ROFL!)

What promotional tricks have worked for you?

Extra value. I try to give the fans and people who buy my movies, (and now book and audible book) extra value. I always include as many special features as I could, when I conducted my kick-starter campaign, I send all the supporters a custom-made thank-you card that all the cast signed. I also included a copy of the soundtrack to the movie. I believe in showing your fans and supporters as much love and respect as possible. For me, that comes in the way of creating quality products and giving them as much value for it as possible.   (Please keep reading for your chance to win~)

Do you have a story or an author who inspires you?

I love the comedy and writing of Ricky Gervais and Tina Fey. I also enjoy movies by filmmakers like Rob Reiner, Nancy Meyers and classic filmmakers like Frank Capra. Stories that make you think, laugh and feel something wonderful at the end of them always are my top picks.

What’s your favorite comfort food?

I’m like a teenage ninja turtle when it comes to pizza. I could eat it every day for every meal and I would if it weren’t for my husband putting restrictions on my consumption of it.

Beverage of choice?

I like coffee and booze. Not necessarily together. I drink coffee all day and like to reward myself at night with whiskey sometimes a nice gin martini.

What makes you happy/sad/angry?

Nothing makes me happier than seeing people laugh. Nothing makes me more angry than seeing people mistreat one another or take advantage of someone who is less fortunate. I am a genuine believer that those who are stronger need to support those who are weaker and less capable. My hope is that more people support their communities and each other and demand that our institutions do the same. At the end of the day, all that we have is each other and all that matters is the memories we leave of ourselves.   T2B-(What a sweetheart!)

What’s in your future as a filmmaker and now author?JC Calciano - photo -2(1)

I’m currently writing my fourth movie in the series. It’s more of a love story than the last two. I’m a big fan of love-stories and I don’t think we have enough gay love stories out there. I’m also hoping to incorporate characters from the first three films in this new movie. I love combining the worlds of the first three films, so with any luck, I’ll be able to have some fun scenes in the new movie with favorite characters from the last three films. I also plan to turn the first two films into books. Writing THE 10 YEAR PLAN into a book was such a rewarding experience that I’m looking forward to revisiting IS IT JUST ME? And eCUPID and adding some great new and sexy scenes to those stories. Lastly, and as always, I’m planning on making more STEAM ROOM STORIES. I love comedy and writing/producing those silly little sketches. Making that show for Youtube make me happy and are a guilty pleasure for me.

What would you like your fans to know about you?

I’d like the fans to know how much I listen to them and how important their feedback and encouragement is to me. As a writer, I’m often locked in a room by myself all day trying to create something sweet, romantic and wonderful. A lot of times, I just stare at the screen waiting for inspiration. When an email from my website shows up or a facebook post appears from a fan that tells me how much my stories mean to them or they comment on youtube how a steam room stories episode made their day, I get inspired. Those little messages and words of encouragement mean a lot to me and they really motivate me to keep writing and making more movies.

T2B- what a very interesting man JC is! We can’t wait to see what he comes up with next. But, until then, we have some fun to share with you.

Here’s the link to see

Three Little Words – THE 10 YEAR PLAN – music video

Here are a couple of pictures of the men who play Brody and Myles in the movie

10YP_Jack_Turner_1 10YP_Jack_Turner_2 10YP_MichaelAdamHamilton

If you’d like to win a copy of the book, the DVD, and the soundtrack, please leave a comment below with your email address. We have two winners to go!  ( Contest ends November 30th, 2015 at midnight)

20151107_074339

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

