Roxy reviews: Mirrors by AJ and DJ

Mirrors written by :AJ Llewellyn and DJ Manly

Published by:  Dreamspinner Press

Kisses: 4

 

 

 

 

 

Blurb:

Troy and Aaron Mayer, identical twins separated at the age of two, lived wildly different lives. Aaron struggled to take care of their alcoholic, gambling-addicted mother, while Troy, raised by their father, experienced a life of luxury. After years of silence, Troy asks to see Aaron. When Aaron arrives at his brother’s boat, he finds his twin dead by suicide. In his farewell note, Troy offers Aaron his car, his money, and his life of riches.

On the run from loan sharks, Aaron slips easily into this mirrored life. But everywhere he turns he discovers somebody Troy devastated, including his handsome husband, Dave Alvarez. Pulled into his brother’s life of crime, Aaron is set up for a fall, but he’s too strong to shatter.

T2B’s Take:

  • Well, since I’m quite new to most of the MM authors I was asked to review this story by AJ Llewellyn and DJ Manly by Michele. I agreed and so here I go.
  • As you’ve already read the blurb I don’t see the need to repeat that. Let me get into what I liked and didn’t like. Seems so much easier that way.
  • Troy and Aaron, twins. Troy is the bad twin, Aaron is the good one. Odd that we always have an evil twin and a good twin. I have a twin and he’s a sweet as I am. I’m pretty sure it has to do with our parents. I say that not to start trouble, but in lieu of the story I’m going to talk about, these boys were raised apart. One, Troy was raised by an asshole of a man, and Aaron, the good twin was raised by an alcoholic mother who never got over the loss of the asshole and their son, Troy. As a mother I can certainly understand that and while I don’t drink, everyone deals with pains in their own ways. Sadly she drank herself to death, leaving Aaron in a mountain of debt and on a loan sharks list.
  • Enter Troy, via phone call, which is probably the only way the twins kept in touch. Now Troy is a jerk. Class A jerk, just like his father. He was raised by the guy, so did we expect any less? Anyway, Aaron is pissed off big time at his brother and his father for not attending his mother’s funeral and he makes that known to his brother. Troy’s way of making it up to him was simple. Meet him at the dock where his boat was and he’d give him whatever money Aaron needed to get out of trouble with the loan shark.
  • It’s funny how things never turn out the way you expect, don’t you agree? When Aaron shows up to meet his brother, this is after he spent a couple days and nights camping in the mountains, hiding from the loan shark. Well he makes it to the boat only to find it empty but with a note from his brother.
  • The note told him to take it all, take over his life because Troy was over it and done. For some off the wall reason Aaron assumed that his brother killed himself and he was reading a suicide note. I don’t know where that came from but, it is what it is.
  • Aaron took a bit of time to consider his choices. Go back to his apartment, where his burnt up car was, yes, the loan shark had it done, or run away from his life and live Troy’s. It took him a few hours to decide what to do. (Personally I would have taken some money out of the bank and paid the shark off but that’s just me and if things had worked out that way I think it may have hurt the story a bit given the so called best friend of Aaron’s turns on him and hands him over to the shark for his dogs. Long story and that’s all I’m telling you there. I mean, what a jerk of a friend Aaron has. Sells him out for his dogs? I too love my dogs, we have three of them, but if a friend was in trouble would I do what Aaron’s friend did? NO. I value my friends lives too much. Sounds like Peta was involved in that part of the story. But let me continue.
  • Aaron steps into Troy’s shoes and away he goes. Finds Troy’s car, his house, his everything, including all the people Troy has pissed off, and the best part of all of it, Dave. Troy’s hubby.
  • Dave is a personal trainer and a very good looking man who foolishly loves Troy, he married him after all. He says it many times in the story as well. Why he loves the real Troy? I have no idea. But I can totally see why he loves Aaron. He’s sweet, he’s considerate, he’s fun, he’s responsible, and yet again if he’s all of that, why didn’t he pay back the loan shark? He borrowed the money to pay off his mother’s debt I think so, just save all the grief and pay it back…UGH! Okay, let me get off of that subject.
  • Now, the people who see Troy everyday encounter the new and improved man and they actually grow to love him. The new Troy does things the old Troy would never consider, such as helping the neighbor find his center, or giving the housekeeper a raise, or firing a prick mob dude at the father/son business. Wow, that was a mess. The jerk should have been sued for sexual harassment by another worker but the father of Troy wouldn’t hear of it and threatened to fire her if she told and…well it’s just ridiculous. I would have called the police and tossed them all in jail but whatever. Not my story to tell.
  • Well, as days go by people begin questioning what the hell happened to Troy and actually start to care about him. This includes the one man who knows or should know him better than anyone. His hubby, Dave. And maybe his father too, but the father never said anything to Aaron, not even when they were alone, instead he yelled and talked down to him still treating him like he was Troy. The guy is a class A jerk. So, the author’s did a fantastic job creating these characters. They are very real. Real enough to me that I like who I like and hate the ones I hate. Well fleshed out, and down to earth vocabulary.
  • I don’t think that anyone, including Matt, Troy’s best friend knew that Troy had a twin, so all they had was Troy and what could they say or do? I mean really? The man changed for the good, hard as it was to believe, but they had no idea it was a game being played mostly by Aaron. So, though Aaron is the good twin, he still went along with Troy and pretended to be someone he wasn’t because he decided it was his turn to live the luxurious life his brother always had. Well, not all of it was all that great. Troy made a lot of enemies, did a lot of crooked things and this includes sleeping around on his husband.
  • Aaron doesn’t understand why his brother did what he did to anyone especially Dave and vows to make it up to as many people as he could. And he did. He made Troy look like a great guy BUT, things have to turn a different direction for the sake of a story and his secret gets out.
  • Let me just say, Aaron is lucky he lived through what was done to him.
  • Writing Style: It was done well. No errors that I saw, POV was fine.
  • How did I feel about the story? Ah, ya know I have mixed feelings about it. I mentioned them as I went through the review for you. It does have a happy ending, weird but happy. I mean, I dunno if I could do what Dave did but it’s not my call so I won’t judge. I truly liked Matt and Dave. Aaron was okay, and Troy, well I wanted to smack him upside his damn head. We don’t see a lot of him but his hateful actions hurt many a people and that’s enough for me to dislike him, a lot. Dave is a hopeless romantic and that’s sorta cute but still, what he does at the end, I dunno that I could.
  • To me the pacing was okay, I think I needed more of a start than what there was. And a bit thicker ending, than what there is, but overall it’s good. I didn’t notice the story dragging at all and I read it in one sitting. The authors are good story tellers, as I said this is my first experience and I’m glad it was a good one.
  • I do know that book two is about to be released. I already requested it.
  • Aj and DJ, it’s a pleasure to have read one of your books. You write very well together and I am looking forward to reading more by the two of you.
  • Roxy

Buy Link e-book

Buy Link paperback

Leave a Reply

