Roxy Reviews: A Game of Skills- Book two in the Farmingdale Gentleman’s Series:

Book Title: A Game Of Skills-

Author: T.C. Blue

Publisher: Total E-Bound

Kisses: 3.5

 

 

 

 

Blurb:
A lot of things happen within the confines of a grey-ops organisation whose services are offered to the highest bidder. Sometimes even love, though that may well be easier said than done.

The last thing Simon is expecting when his latest Game goes thoroughly wrong is to be rescued by a man he doesn’t know and an oddly intelligent child, but that’s exactly what happens. He’s pulled from the proverbial fire by the strange duo. That would have been fine if he hadn’t developed some unexpected and unwelcome attraction to the man, Morgan.

Morgan’s been running for years, trying to keep his best friend, Rico’s, child from the clutches of what he’s sure is a group Rico wants no part of. Helping Simon is barely tolerable. Developing feelings for the secretive man is less so.

Between Simon’s organisation, the Farmingdale Gentleman’s Club, and whoever’s after Rico, Morgan’s pretty sure that he and Rico are screwed. When things come to a head, he has to make some hard choices, which might or might not involve Simon.

 

T2B’s Take:

Plot

Personally I thought this particular one was better than the first, but I’ve come to find that when we’re working with series instead of getting worse, they get better and I’m glad for that. A Game of Skills was how Simon, (Si, from the first book.) Met his future lover and child. The beginning was full of adventure and page after page I grew more and more interested in the story and the characters.

The way that Simon meets his future lover and child is quite unique if I do say so myself. WTG! To T.C. Blue, the author. Seeing as how Simon is a grey ops guy, he’s supposed to be the one doing the saving or what have you, but not in this instance. He was the one who needed saving and that’s done by Morgan, Simon’s next and last love.

Morgan is on the run from another organization who is trying to kidnap them so they can use Rico, Morgan’s best friend’s child, as a weapon of war so to speak. The child has unusual abilities and due to that small issue, her mother ended up killed in a game of chance. Morgan and Rico’s mom seemed to be on the run all the time, well sadly, Rico’s mom couldn’t avoid being killed while saving her only child.

Morgan promised his best friend he’d raise Rico and though Rico has unusual abilities, the kid is probably the smartest cutest most grown up under age teen I’ve ever ‘met.’ Rico is actually the one who can sense danger and she’s the one who is responsible for saving Simon’s life. It’s only fair that Simon does the same for Rico and throughout the story, T.C. Blue does a wonderful job showing us how interesting the guy’s lives are as well as Rico’s.

There are a few things I didn’t care for but that’s normal. I mean I can’t love everything, right? I will have issues of some sort with almost everything I come across.

So, in saying that, it seemed as if T.C. was running out of things to write about for this trio and ended up adding some filler and even a game, as they call them, towards the later part of the story. It should have been a lot more than it was, it seemed rushed and I can see why. A game should be at the front of the stories because there’s plenty of room to engage the readers and give us all the yummy details, besides which, I did get a bit bored right before the game happened. Not saying this is a bad story, it is my favorite so far, but that’s what I found wrong. There are a few other things I didn’t care for, but I’m not going to go into that much. I do think that the editor should have reined the author in a bit and cut down on using the same phrases and words over and over. It gets really annoying. I’m sure you understand.

Characters

I did find them believable and engaging. They were anything but cardboard cutouts. I was interested in their dilemma and enjoyed my time with the characters from the first story. I say to T.C., well done!

Recommend? Yes, go for it.

Reviewed by: Roxy

 

Leave a Reply

