Unsaid by Avery Aster


Title: Unsaid
Author: Avery Aster
Publisher: Avery Aster
POV: 3rd
Pages: 528
Kisses: 3

Blurb:

For fans who loved the snarky wit of Will & Grace and the epic love drama found in Brokeback Mountain comes Avery Aster’s new full-length, standalone contemporary erotic M/M romance novel, Unsaid.

Chelsea’s hottie Blake Morgan III has reemerged from a nasty breakup. His marriage was a frigid disaster beyond repair, and he vows to be single—forever. Bruised, but still hot in Prada, he creates his Seven Desires wish list, his sexiest imaginings. Blake soon realizes there’s only one man he may trust to make these uninhibited intentions come to fruition: his best friend Miguel Santana.

Lower East Side multimedia artist extraordinaire Miguel Santana may be known as the cocky Latin stud in the city, but all he’s wanted since college was Blake’s hand in marriage. He was livid when Blake walked down the aisle with the wrong guy. Miguel has his own list titled the Seven Needs, which are quite contrary to Blake’s dirty-boy deeds. They involve serious commitments, which may leave his new-to-the-singles-scene buddy sprinting for the door, destroying any hopes Miguel has for happiness.

Can these two hunks conquer their intimate fears and love one another as only best friends can? Join the star-studded cast in The Manhattanites series and see for yourself!

Review:

Roxy’s Take

Below are the points I stumbled over in the story
• IS this a stand-alone or not? We’re told it is. We’re told all of Aster’s stories are, but for some readers, this is not. I say this because there are a slew of characters in this story and from what I gathered they’re all besties. They have a backstory, all of them, so if you don’t mind turning on a show mid-way and watching it, then thinking you get what’s going on, give this a go and remember to read the first few pages closely. Avery gives us a who’s who so we’re not too lost. (I catch on fairly quickly, especially when it comes to reading and honestly I got lost a few times but not enough to keep me from finishing the story. I have to do the review, sooo….

• My Opinion: I’m wondering now if this is how soap operas got their start, or maybe even the Housewives reality shows? I don’t mean to be mean, as I’m anything but, however when I review a book, the author/ publisher wants to hear the truth on what I thought, so here it is.

• I really feel as if I walked onto the set of a soap opera or yes, the dreaded reality show of the rich and famous. So much drama. A lot of drama and more than enough people to cause it. Each person the author brought into this story had drama of some sort and I understand that without it, there’s a chance the reader will be bored but…BUT, how many main characters are there supposed to be? I promise you, I have patience but mid-way in I was getting annoyed and had to set the reader aside for two days before I got on with the reading.

Within these pages we meet the ‘stars’ Blake the third, (UGH), Miguel, (Mario Lopez lookalike.) Lex, her soon to be hubby, Miss(something or another,) and their son M2. Then Birdie who is the mother of Lex. Wait, I’m not yet done with introductions. Then there’s Diego, (Blake’s ex-hubby,) and Taddy, along with her fiancé Warner (he plays a very small part.) Let me not forget Vive, Thor, Jemma and her two guys Rocco and Luigi.

So, basically this is, as the blurb states, Blake’s story. Or let me put it this way. This is Blake after a messy divorce, with a nasty Diego and oh so many BFF girlfriends. I mean this is Blake and Miguel’s story. A story of how the rich and famous live it up.

Blake the third: I didn’t care for him. I couldn’t click with him throughout the entire story. I didn’t give a rats ass about what happened to him and that’s sad. VERY sad. I wanted to love him and care about his plight with his ex. But I couldn’t. I mean, he wasn’t approachable. To me he is a snob and I don’t like snobs.

Miguel: I adored him, to a point. I do enjoy reading BDSM but really, the author could have done oh so much more had said author stopped focusing on Lex, Birdie, Massimo and M2 so much. As I said, way too much happening with all these characters. Basically they all tried to get their fifteen minutes of fame within the pages of this story that by the time I was finished with the book I wanted to forget about it. I’m very sorry, Avery. But I’m saying it like it is.

So, back to what did go on and not what could have gone on. Blake the third along with a few of his BFF’s are out drinking and celebrating his divorce when out of nowhere someone comes up with Blake’s seven desires. Basically seven things he wants to have done to him or be a part of. WoW. That list is something else. These are things he’d never done and wanted done. One of them was fisting! Brave soul that. (I’m not quite sure here, but I’m almost sure that once a person is fisted in the derriere all of the um…virginess is GONE, way gone. Am I right? I mean how can one be an anal virgin if s/he has had a fist in said anal?) Yet, even after that took place, Blake the III apparently was still an anal virgin. OK, he never bottomed before, but still… A fist in most cases is a lot thicker than a dick. (Most fists that is.)

Mig, his longtime BFF, (though Blake loves the girls as friends better,) has had a long time crush on the blond haired, blue eyed guy for ten years. Did he ever get brave enough to tell Blake this? Nope. Not a once. He kept his feelings to himself because he had some issues of his own. Now, I truly did like Miguel, him being a Dom and all that only made him that much more wantable, but his reasons for thrashing Blake the third at one point were selfish ones. I mean he says, as he is holding a flogger or something in his hand and spanking Blake that this is for such and such and this is for when you did this and that. So, I’m not too familiar with BDSM and the Dom rules, but I think that’s not allowed. The Dom must remain in control at all times, the Dom is not to do anything that hasn’t been agreed upon, and the Dom should never ever have something on his mind against his sub during a scene or something can and will happen and someone will end up hurt. Mig messed up here and a bit of my OMG he’s amazing fell down to okay, he’s okay. Cute and all.

Now, since Mig stepped up to the plate- he was attacked by their mutual friends to the point that he couldn’t say no because of his feels for the lovely man-He agrees to give Blake all his hearts desires and actually his entrance into the role as Blake’s “Dom,” was done quite sneaky.

Okay, so if you’re off with friends and having your butt sugared, instead of waxed, and then get a massage, wouldn’t you get a little put off by being touched in all the places you should not be touched by a stranger? I am being honest. If that were me. If I went in for a massage and the dude began feeling me up, no matter how horny I could be, may be, etc., if his hands started doing things I did not agree to, lets remember stranger area here, I’d jump up off that table so fast and try to rip him to shreds it would take a long while for me to calm the hell down. NOT with Blake. Nope. He quite enjoyed it and let me say, this is not a place where everything has a happy ending. It’s an upscale very nice place where ONLY the rich and famous go. So, hmm… I dunno, I’ve never been rich or famous and I don’t know any rich or famous people to check facts but, I don’t think it’s the norm to get off the way Blake did with a ‘stranger.’

Whatever, I didn’t like it. So not romantic. Not even fun to read on my end. BUT, I don’t like the normal usual things either.

But, if we’re going to step over the line, make it believable. The characters ARE indeed alive in my head and since the author spent a lot of time pointing out how rich they were and how many famous people they knew, I really did not want to get into their life. I don’t fit there and I don’t want to. I don’t even care to read about them. Yes, I know. It’s a fictional story. Still don’t like it.

Now then, let’s move on. A typical Dom/ sub relationship- okay, typical is a bad word to use here. Nothing in any relationship is typical. My bad. Generally speaking, when a couple enters into a D/s relationship they speak about the do’s and don’ts beforehand. It’s not just sprung on them. As in, oh by the way it’s your job to do… Not even on a trial run of things. Guess who did that? Yes, that cutie Mario Lopez lookalike: Miguel.

Things like: Walk the dog, clean the house, cook the food, shop for the food, clean the clothes, etc. And now let me say, Blake works a full-time job as well. He’s filthy rich, as are the rest of them and that is just how it is. It is realistic. I gotta give Avery that. I mean her characters rubbed noses with Liv Tyler, Lady Gaga, and the like. And yes, high profile big names are in this book. Not even kidding. Is that legal?

Now, as to why Blake agreed to be a live in slave for Mig is beyond me but whatever. To each his own. Maybe it was to teach the snot something. If that’s what Mig’s mission was, I think he may have succeeded.

Plot-line: Is it possible to love again after a marriage gone wrong? Can you trust again?

In the world of the rich and famous not everything is great but money does help to make it all better. These characters, all of them, I couldn’t grab anything that could make me give a shit about them. Maybe Mig. The rest of them? Ah, not so much.

The author says that prudes shouldn’t read his/her stories due to the content. Well, I don’t consider myself a prude at all. On any level. But I have limits and two of my limits were tested in Blake’s seven desires. First off, fisting is dangerous. It can lead to the death of the person being fisted if not done correctly. The author never allowed us insight to what Miguel’s experience was as far as a top/Dom went. He used the correct tools, went about it the right way, but he’ fisted his sub, his BFF, the only man he ever loved before he had anal sex with him and still referred to Blake as a virgin?! UGH…sorry, but how can a person who has been fisted still be an anal virgin?

Then there’s the whole golden shower thing. I… that’s a very hard one for me. I get that others like it and that’s fine. I’m not saying it’s wrong. I just don’t care for it. I don’t want to read the words. I would have liked to have been TOLD that’s what happened in this case….I’m serious. It’s okay to tell some things. I’d rather not see this.

So, things happen, some not so good, especially when we find out that Blake is hiding something from his BFF, Mig. TSK. It’s a damn good thing that Miguel is a patient and forgiving man. That’s all I’m saying about that.

The other characters who stole from Blake and Miguel’s story, omg! I don’t even want to go there. Really. I didn’t care what or why or anything. I wanted to get to know Blake and Miguel better. I feel as if I was teased and ripped off a bit. I feel that I know more of Lex and her family issues than that of Blake and Mig. I thought this was their story?

It’s not to say it was a terrible story because it’s not. I’m just focusing on the what I didn’t like about this book thing.

Look at technical details, like point of view, writing style, any grammatical errors, atmosphere. Okay, so I did look into all of the above mentioned. I will give it a three at best. It just wasn’t my sort of story. It did have the ending I love though. And there were some parts that were great, others good, and some bad. However, we are all unique and diverse, so just because I didn’t care for some of the story doesn’t mean you’ll feel the same. Take a chance on these rich socialites who run with the well-known celebrities and see if you like it. Honestly, it wasn’t my cupa. And I don’t believe I’ll read the rest of the series. Oh, and it’s probably a GREAT idea to read these stories in order so you can get an idea as to who is who. Even with the detailed information from the author, it didn’t help.

All in all, though I really did show you some of the strange things that I didn’t care for, it wasn’t badly written at all. Some of the dialog was eh, some was good, but it’s just the whole rich people thing. I don’t care for it. To me, well those people (characters) aren’t true to themselves or anyone else. Regardless of what I read.

Try the story, you may like it.

Reviewed by: Roxy- this was my first review! I got caught up with life in general and wasn’t able to get to this. Now that I am fully here, I hope to be bringing you a few more interviews soon. CHEERS!

Buy HERE

Leave a Reply

