Craig by Catherine Lievens


Title: Gillham Pack, Book 3: Craig
Author: Catherine Lievens
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Characters: Craig, Thomas
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Paranormal Romance
Kisses: 2.75




Blurb:

Sometimes you have to let go of a comfortable life to really start living.

Craig has rescued his last shifters from the Glass Research Company. He knew he wouldn’t have been able to do it for long, but now he’s at a loss about what to do with his life. Then Kameron offers him a job, but can he really live with a pack of shifters?

Thomas had a comfortable life, at least until Kameron ruined it for him. Still, it doesn’t mean it has to change, and Thomas is ready to do his best to keep everything as it is. When he meets his mate, he knows he won’t be able to do it for much longer and he has to make a decision that could turn his life upside-down.

Can Thomas get over the situation his old alpha created so many years ago and find a way to be happy with Craig? And will Craig be able to see past the shell Thomas has built around himself and give the man a chance?

Review:

Craig is the third book in the Gillham Pack series. I’ve read these books in series order and so far I’ve really enjoyed it so far. The on-going storyline is very interesting and I’ve liked most of the characters in this series. I’m definitely looking forward to reading the next book in the series.

Although Craig is probably my least favorite in the series, it was still a good book. Craig, in particular, is a very compelling hero. He’s a human trying to find his place and live with a pack of shifters. They accept him and he tries hard to be as accepting and to gain their respect. I, myself respected and liked him so it was easy to see why the other pack members would too.

I have to admit I didn’t care for Thomas. Not because of his back-story, in fact, it was horrible he had to live a lie for twenty years and it was because of this, it made me feel badly for him. But, Thomas is pretty much a big jerk throughout the novel. Now, please don’t get me wrong. I totally understood why. He’s been miserable and he’s taken it out on others, but in my opinion there wasn’t enough of him chilling out and not being so defensive and lashing out at others so much. *Including Craig* Thomas himself knows he’s difficult and he vows to be more approachable and not as combative in the future, but the scenes with him being…well friendly were few and far between.

Also, I wasn’t crazy about the way Thomas revealed to Craig that they were mates. I don’t want to give anything away because this would spoil it and honestly others might not be as offended by his actions as I was, but I thought it was pretty low of him to not allow Craig to make his own decision. I understand he is possessive, but it was just too much for me. I figure other readers won’t feel this way and that’s good. I could see that in the end Thomas was regretful, but I honestly thought Craig was a saint to forgive him and to give him a shot.

In the end, I’m still unsure if this couple will be happy together. I truly hope Thomas continues to redeem himself and work hard at being a more approachable likeable man. He seemed to be a good father, so I figure he probably has it in him.

I also thought the way Thomas’ teenaged kids accepted his sexuality pretty quickly. I guess the story felt a little too rushed for me. I would have like for things to be hashed out more in the end.

Please don’t get me wrong. I know there will be many people who will like this book more than I did. Fans of Ms. Lievens will definitely enjoy the angst and the fast-paced storyline this book has. I enjoyed catching up with the some of the other characters and definitely look forward to reading the next book. I’m interested in seeing how Thomas and Craig will fair in the future…personally I have hopes for them.

If you are looking for a fast-paced shifter series with interesting characters then the Gillham Pack series is definitely one to consider. Ms. Lievens knows how to write stories that get you addicted to her characters. The books in series order are:

Xavier
Zach
Craig

Reviewed By: Gabbi

BUY HERE

Leave a Reply

