Marshmallows and the Snow by Liza Kay


Title: Marshmallows and the Snow
Author: Liza Kay
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Pages: 70
Characters: Ruben, Aleksander
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Contemporary Romance
Kisses: 3




Blurb:

Ruben, a young man from London, enjoys his first vacation with his first boyfriend in Norway. But soon, the ski-adventure turns into a nightmare. First, Ruben finds Toby fucking one of the hotel’s employees in their bed. Then, in his haste to flee the horrible situation, he becomes lost in the cold woods. And when he finally finds shelter in a remote cabin, the owner welcomes him with a raised shotgun.

Aleksander is stunned when the tiny guy he thought was a burglar faints right in front of him. To make it up to him, he peels the cute slip of a man out of his soggy, icy clothes and tucks him into bed. The meteorologist and self-declared hermit plans to get rid of his guest as soon as he wakes up. Ruben is less than thrilled though.

The blond, Nordic God might have a habit of swinging shotguns, hatchets, or axes, but he’s kind, caring and hot as hell, too. Ruben is instantly smitten and falls hard for the older man. He tries everything to seduce him and even considers to uproot his whole life in London for Aleks’ love. But Aleks has been burned in the past. Can he accept the love and future Ruben offers him, or will Ruben return to London for good?

Review:

Marshmallows and the Snow is a very sweet story. I admit, I’m not always in the mood for a lot of angst and emotionally driven stories. There are times I just want to read a sweet and light-hearted romance and this story fit my craving for a romantic tale.

Both heroes were interesting men. I liked Ruben and Aleks, but as unique as they were, I thought they were a little one-dimensional. Also, there were times I thought the author was telling the story instead of showing me what was going on within the characters’ lives. There were times it felt like there was some head-hopping going and I wasn’t sure as to which character was telling the story at the time. Because of this, I was brought out of the story a few times and had to go back and re-read the paragraph or sentence to see who was telling what.

Now, please don’t get me wrong. This was an enjoyable book. It’s obvious that Ms. Kay can tell an interesting tale of love and romance. Even though this is practically a love-at-first sight romance, (which I happen to like because I believe it can happen) I did find myself wrapped up into the intense attraction these two men had together and I ended up really hoping they would find their happy ending together.

If you are looking for a very sweet romance then Marshmallows and the Snow might be the book you are looking for. It would be a good choice if you are in the mood for a quick, fun and lighthearted read. This is the first book I’ve read by Ms. Kay and I do plan on checking out more books by her in the future. I’m definitely interested in what she has in store for us next.

Reviewed By: Gabbi

BUY HERE

Leave a Reply

