Xavier by Catherine Lievens


Title: The Gillham Pack Series, Book 1: Xavier
Author: Catherine Lievens
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Pages: 133
Characters: Xavier, Andy
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Shifter, Paranormal, Series, Romance
Kisses: 3.75




Blurb:

Xavier’s life has gone to hell. Not only has his ex-boyfriend’s stalker attacked him, but in order to keep him safe he’s being sent to the Gillham pack. It wouldn’t be too bad, if not for the small detail that he hadn’t known shifters existed before that! He’s not sure what he can expect from them, but he doesn’t have a choice. When he meets Andy, he’s weirdly attracted to the man, but Xavier knows he’s not good enough for him.

Andy doesn’t want to play babysitter for Xavier, at least not until he meets him and realizes the man is his mate. He knows he’s going to have a hard time convincing Xavier to at least give their bond a chance, and that’s not counting the other problems their relationship will have to face.

The two mates will have to navigate angry families and the ever-present lab problem, and still Andy isn’t sure he’ll be able to help his mate get over his low self-esteem long enough to give him a chance.

Review:

To my knowledge, Xavier is the first book I’ve read by Catherine Lievens and it definitely won’t be my last. Ms. Lievens wrote a sweet and sexy romance between two interesting characters that left a smile on my face and a craving for more!

I really liked how these two men learned to like, respect and trust each other. Although it is a shifter romance, which often means there is an insta-attraction/love element to it, *I love insta-love* I appreciated how these men truly wanted to get to know one another and in the end, chose to be together.

I loved the wolf-shifter, Andy. Whew! He is a hottie! What’s even better is he has a very loving side to him that made me want to swoon. Who wouldn’t love a tattooed, sexy as hell, strong man with a big heart? I adored the way he was determined to have Xavier in his life and really appreciated the patience, love and kindness he showed him.

Xavier was a sexy man too. He’s sweet and loveable and it was so easy to see why Andy would be head over heels with him. I LOVED the fact Ms. Lievens made him not have perfect abs and body. He’s a little on the heavy side and because of this, he has low-self esteem. I admit, this low-self worth drove me nuts at times. I wanted to shake some sense into the man and truly craved for him to see how others, and especially his mate saw him. I wanted to clap with glee when he finally gets that he is sexy and worthy both as a man and as Andy’s mate.

The reason this was not a higher kiss read for me was because of the abrupt ending this book had. The last chapter jumped a month from the previous one before and BOOM…it felt like I missed a lot. I would have liked to seen more affection, growth and love they gave to their growing family. I kinda felt cheated, but I still really liked this book and look forward to reading the next book in the series.

Xavier is the first book in the Gillham Pack series and it definitely starts the series with a very intriguing and strong beginning. If you are looking for a sexy and romantic shifter romance, Xavier is definitely the book for you!

Recommended!

Reviewed By: Gabbi

Click HERE to buy Xavier

Leave a Reply

