Submission Guidelines by T. Neilson


Title: Submission Guidelines
Author: T. Neilson
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Pages: 105
Characters: Cole Doren, Daniel Mazurek
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Contemporary Romance, BDSM
Kisses: 3




Blurb:

Cole Doren is starting over. He’s moved, started working as a food writer again, and is crushing hard on his new neighbor, Daniel Mazurek, who is a genuinely nice guy and as hot as a supernova.

Too bad for Cole, Daniel’s not what he seems.

And too bad for Daniel, the cute boy-next-door’s DNA says he’s one of America’s most wanted, and it’s Daniel’s job to confirm that and bring him down. Digging through Cole’s past, Daniel finds out about Cole’s BDSM videos and while it should set off warning bells, it only leaves Daniel damn hot for Cole. Getting closer to his subject is easy, but starting a relationship built on trust is a lot harder when everything Daniel’s ever told Cole has been a lie..

Review:

Submission Guidelines is the first book I’ve read by T. Neilson. Although I thought the idea behind the storyline of the book was a good one, there were times I was pulled out of the story due to some repetitive wording in areas of the book.

The blurb does an excellent job at describing the story, so I won’t rehash much of it. Cole is starting his life over. He’s lost his partner to a fatal disease and has been going through the motions of life, instead of living them. Cole is a little bit of a klutz at times and he seemed to be struggling with life in general. At times he fumbles with his words and his submissive nature cries out to be controlled in many ways.

Daniel is his neighbor who Cole immediately forms an attachment too. Daniel is a nice guy, but Cole has no idea what the real reason he’s been hanging around him. Although Daniel does like Cole, he has a job to do *you’ll have to read it if you want to know what that job is* and becomes attracted and genuinely likes Cole. As they begin to form a friendship, their pasts and present lives threaten to clash and without a lot of understanding and forgiveness they won’t be able to have a future together.

As I mentioned before, there were times I was pulled out of the story. There were a few moments where I thought the story itself was too rushed and their relationship went too quickly without them truly connecting together well. I liked both men but at times I thought they weren’t fleshed out as much as they should have been. Also, I would have liked to have seen them truly grow into their BDSM lifestyle/relationship together. I thought it was a tad bit glossed over than what I would have liked. (They still had a couple of very hot moments though).

Please don’t get me wrong. In ways I really enjoyed this book. I liked the premise of the story and at times, I thought the two heroes’ relationship made it an interesting read. They had some enduring and sweet moments together and I appreciated the way both men were willing to compromise so they may share their lives with one another. The story itself is a fast-paced one and I enjoyed the creative storytelling ability Ms. Neilson has. I’m interested in reading more from this author because I do believe she has a creative mind and I’m compelled to see what other stories she will come up with next.

Reviewed By: Gabbi

Click HERE to enter the Dreamspinner Press Website

Leave a Reply

