Forever for Now by Scotty Cade


Title: Forever for Now
Author: Scotty Cade
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Pages: 79
Characters: Leeland, Harrison
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Contemporary Romance
Kisses: 3






Blurb:

Leeland Jeffers is a contented single man with a thriving career in Atlanta. He’s had a few unsuccessful relationships over the years, but no one has even come close to his first love, Harrison Rhinehart. They met in college when a mutual friend, Suzie Garrison, introduced Harry into their close-knit group. When the supposedly “straight” Harry made a move on Lee, the two men entered into a tumultuous secret love affair. In their senior year, the relationship finally ended when Harry informed Lee he was marrying Suzie.

Since graduation, the college friends have drifted apart. However, an unexpected invitation to a destination wedding seems set to reunite them all. Lee’s speculation on whether Harry and Suzie will make an appearance threatens to derail his attendance. But Lee decides the hell with it and makes plans to go, Harry Rhinehart or no Harry Rhinehart.

Review:

When I noticed Forever for Now by Scotty Cade was up to be reviewed, I immediately knew I had to read it. Mr. Cade is one of my go-to authors. I LOVE his books An Unconventional Courtship and An Unconventional Union. When it comes to writing love and romance, Mr. Cade is a master at what he does.

I will admit I didn’t like this book as much as some of the other books Mr. Cade has published. Now, please don’t get me wrong, Forever for Now is a good story. It has two interesting heroes and a solid storyline. I liked it, but I didn’t fall in love with it as I have with some of Mr. Cade’s books in the past.

After I finished reading the story, I’ve really thought and asked myself why I didn’t like this one as much as the others. I think the main reason was the pacing of the story itself. Lee and Harry have basically been in love since college. Harry is afraid of his love and attraction to Lee and dumps him; only to marry a woman the next day. Lee is devastated, but determined to go on with life. He has many one night stands and can never give his heart to another. When they are supposed to meet with their group of friends in Mexico for a wedding, both men are forced to face their past, forgive and face the future together.

I liked both heroes. Lee is intelligent, flirty and can be pretty vampy at times. He’s sexy and his self-confidence made him a tantalizing character. Although he’s had a lot of men in his life, he can’t forget his one true love, Harry. Now, I understood why Lee liked Harry. Through a few flashbacks, we understand why Harry became endearing to Lee. In fact, Lee loves Harry so much, he forgives Harry over and over again, only to get his heart broken in the end.

On the other hand, when Harry dumps Lee to marry his girlfriend, I really wanted to shake some sense into him. Yes, I kinda understood where Harry was coming from, but I still didn’t like it. Harry has worked hard to be successful, but when it comes to his personal life, Harry is a failure. It’s hard to live a lie and be happy. When his wife leaves him the night before their departure for the wedding, Harry becomes determined to win both Lee’s love and forgiveness.

This is where I had a slight niggle with the story. I thought the reunion between the two men was too rushed. I thought Lee’s forgiveness was too quick and would have liked to have seen Harry eat a little crow for hurting him so much. Instead, they almost immediately fall into bed and vow to start their relationship over. In a way, it was romantic, so I think I understand Mr. Cade’s reasoning behind it, but as a reader I wanted more. I wanted more romance. I wanted more groveling. (On Harry’s part…why? Lee deserved it.) I wanted to see how these two men really work at making this relationship a successful one. I wanted Harry to prove himself to Lee. In the end, I guess I just wanted more.

In the end, I still liked this book. I love Mr. Cade’s work and recommend it. The chemistry between Lee and Harry is definitely undeniable. I adored Lee’s personality, and his friends were people that I’d love to hang around. Mr. Cade also has a descriptive storytelling ability that I really enjoy. You’ll feel like you are there with his characters. Whether it’s feeling their pain or enjoying their lives, Mr. Cade knows how to write amazing, romantic stories that can take your breath away. Unfortunately, this wasn’t a favorite of mine, but I might be biased because of my great love for his Unconventional series. I still recommend Forever for Now. It would be a good choice if you are looking for a quick, sexy read. You’ll enjoy the heroes’ chemistry and it has an ending that will leave a smile on your face.

Reviewed By: Gabbi

Click HERE to go to the Dreamspinner Press Website

Leave a Reply

