What’s in a Name by Pat Henshaw


Title: What’s in a Name?
Author: Pat Henshaw
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Pages: 90
Characters: Jimmy Patterson and Stone
POV: First
Sub-Genre: Contemporary
Kisses: 5




Blurb:

Barista Jimmy Patterson thinks it’s a good idea to get rip-roaring drunk on his birthday after he’s dumped by his boyfriend. When the burly owner of Stonewall’s Bar rescues Jimmy, the night starts to look up.

Now Jimmy just wants to know the bartender’s first name since he’s worn a different name tag every time Jimmy’s seen him. “Guy” Stone gives Jimmy seven guesses, one for each night he takes Jimmy out on a date.

While Jimmy’s trying to come up with his name, he’s distracted by the destruction of his coffee shop and what looks more and more like a hate crime.

Review:

What’s in a Name” is a funny, sweet story that put me in a really buoyant frame of mind, which I needed at the time. It is sweet, funny, and although I knew what Stone’s first name was before I got to the end, there were a few surprises there too. I loved the fact that Jimmy had worked hard to get where he was as a business owner but was obviously a bit clueless when it came to picking men, and Stone’s strong personality was a great foil for his can-do attitude.

I don’t know if I could only pick one best bit, but I can say that I loved the story and that it is staying on my ereader under favourites for when I need a pick-me-up. The personal histories are brilliant and the characters wonderfully imperfect, and the story had a way of not taking itself too seriously.

I would recommend “What’s in a Name” for anyone who needs a pick-me-up or sweet read with a bit of humour. Seriously. No matter what genre they usually read. I am definitely looking to see if Pat Henshaw has any more stories out there.

Reviewed By: Alison

Click Here to enter the Dreamspinner Press Website

Leave a Reply

