Foolish Encounters Anthology


Title: Foolish Encounters
Authors: Amy Lane, Angel Martinez, Elin Gregory, Freddy Mackay, J.C. Wallace, Tali Spencer, Tinnean
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Characters: Multiple
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genres: Contemporary, Paranormal, Science Fiction
Kisses: 3.75




Blurb:

An accident, a chance encounter, a thought blurted out, a boat blown off course, a change in direction that suddenly runs into the line of fire – the smallest misstep can change everything. These foolish encounters are the moments around which lives pivot and sometimes spin out of control. Join us for tales of imprudent choices and bad decisions that can lead just as easily to hilarity as they can to tragedy.

Review:

Okay, I do have to admit to having a bias towards sci-fi, so it will come as no surprise that my favourites were the sci-fi stories.

The stories in this anthology are:

A Message from the Home Office by Angel Martinez
Shredding the Heart by JC Wallace
The Lunar Imperative by Elin Gregory
Blue and Green Persuasion by Tinnean
Well Hello, Eight Eyes by Tali Spencer
The Fenestration Penetration by Amy Lane
The Nut Job by Freddy Mackay

While my favourites were “A Message from the Home Office”, “Blue and Green Persuasion”, and “The Nut Job”, I also enjoyed “The Lunar Imperative”, “Well Hello, Eight Eyes”, and “The Fenestration Penetration”, although I think there is more to tell in “The Lunar Imperative”.

I don’t want to say too much about any of the stories because I will definitely ruin them, but I will say that I found the anthology overall to be enjoyable with the occasional surprise thrown in. I think the best bit was discovering that Freddy Mackay’s story returned us to the ‘verse of Angel Martinez’s “A Message from the Home Office” because I absolutely loved the story.

Having read the anthology, not only will I be waiting for more from the ‘verse discovered in Angel Martinez and Freddy Mackay’s stories, I think I’ll go look up some of Tinnean’s releases.

Please keep in mind that I am not a contemporary story reader, so readers of contemporary stories will probably enjoy the anthology too, especially “The Fenestration Penetration”.

Reviewed By: Alison

Buy HERE

Leave a Reply

