Carry the Ocean by Heidi Cullinan


Title: The Roosevelt, Book 1: Carry the Ocean
Author: Heidi Cullinan
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Pages: 224
Characters: Jeremey Samson, Emmet Washington
POV: 1st
Sub-Genre: Contemporary Romance
Kisses: 5+


Blurb:

Normal is just a setting on the dryer.

The Roosevelt, Book 1

High school graduate Jeremey Samson is looking forward to burying his head under the covers and sleeping until it’s time to leave for college. Then a tornado named Emmet Washington enters his life. The double major in math and computer science is handsome, forward, wicked smart, interested in dating Jeremey—and he’s autistic.

But Jeremey doesn’t judge him for that. He’s too busy judging himself, as are his parents, who don’t believe in things like clinical depression. When his untreated illness reaches a critical breaking point, Emmet is the white knight who rescues him and brings him along as a roommate to The Roosevelt, a quirky new assisted living facility nearby.

As Jeremey finds his feet at The Roosevelt, Emmet slowly begins to believe he can be loved for the man he is behind the autism. But before he can trust enough to fall head over heels, he must trust his own conviction that friendship is a healing force, and love can overcome any obstacle.

Review:

Heidi Cullinan is one of my go to authors. There are several books of hers that are favorites of mine. These are the books I reach for time and time again when I’m in the mood for something special. I love revisiting her characters and reliving the story they have to tell. Carry the Ocean is another favorite of mine. It will be one I’ll reach for time and time again and I’m already looking forward to reading again soon.

One of the reasons I loved this book was the story these two men had to tell. Both men have been battling some form of mental challenge for years, and to watch them continue to try to come to heal and come to terms with it was a humbling experience. Seeing them strive to be what others consider to be ‘normal’ was often a heartbreaking and thought-provoking experience for me. It reminded me that the brain is a very fragile thing and how thankful I am that I’ve been lucky enough to not have to deal with the issues both these characters do.

This is told with a dueling first person point of view. I, for one appreciated this. Now we get to experience firsthand what both characters are going through. We get to experience their joys, heartbreaks, bad days, good days and the healing process both of them go through and I loved every minute of it.

Not only does Carry the Ocean have a very compelling, well-written storyline, the intense feelings these men have for one another really jumped off of the written page for me. I loved watching their relationship grow and evolve. It wasn’t always an easy thing for either of them, and they both quickly figure out that love and friendship always takes love and understanding on both sides. Their love is an enduring, beautiful one and definitely pulled at this reader’s heartstrings.

I’m overjoyed that this is a first book in a series. I can’t wait to see what happens next and to hopefully revisit these characters soon. Believe me when I say that they will live within your heart long after the book is finished.

I can’t recommended this book high enough. I truly loved it and so will you.

Reviewed By: Gabbi

BUY LINK

Leave a Reply

