Electrify His Heart by Alana Ankh


Title: Microchips and Purity Book 1: Electrify His Heart
Author: Alana Ankh
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Pages: 200
Characters: Raze Hartman, Uriel Noah
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Science Fiction, Romance
Kisses: 4.5


Blurb:

It is the year 2441. A deadly virus has swept over the planet, short-circuiting cybernetic implants, killing billions. In the aftermath, the newly formed state of Eden is led by the one newborn that survived that dreadful day, Uriel Noah of the House of Zion—the Guiding Light. Unbeknownst to all, Uriel lives in a gilded cage, deprived of basic affection, used as a pawn, craving freedom and love.

Cyborg Raze Hartman is the leader of the resistance. His kind—cyborgs with a high cybernetic coefficient—were hit hardest by the virus, the few survivors crippled and enslaved by the purist system. Struggling to keep his father alive, Raze resorts to investigating the Guiding Light, the symbol of cyborg oppression. What he finds changes his life, and Uriel’s.

After sneaking into a purist ceremony, Raze sees past Uriel’s facade of strength and aloofness. He sees the lonely young man behind the mask of the Guiding Light. The instantaneous attraction between them is literally electric. But a chasm separates them, as wide as the difference between flesh and metal, and the secrets of Uriel’s past may be the undoing of them all.

Review:

Initially, when I saw the second book in the Microchips and Purity series, Short Circuit His Soul, was requested to be reviewed, I knew I wanted to read it. Being a science-fiction/romance novel, I knew I needed to read the first book in the series, so I would have a handle on what was going on. I’m sooo glad I did, because Electrify His Heart definitely caught my interest and made me become invested into these unusual characters and the story they had to tell.

Admittedly, I do not read a lot of science fiction, but the thought of a cyborg falling in love with a healer nicknamed the “Guiding Light” really peaked my interest. The story starts off with a bang and ends with a bit of a cliffhanger, so you’ll definitely want to read these two books in the series in order.

I’m always a sucker for the forbidden love and things aren’t always as they seem scenario and I highly enjoyed this one! One of the things I really enjoyed about this read was the intense chemistry these two men had together. There is a bit of an insta-love there, but I didn’t care and understood why it was important for them to almost immediately feel so strongly about each other.

Also, I really liked the action filled storyline as well as the politics that drives these characters to do what they do. Each and every one of these characters really bring something important to the story, so it was easy for me to become fully invested into their lives.

Between the twists and turns the story has and the well-written characters this book has, I ended up reading this story from start to finish without stopping for any kind of a break. I loved the relationship between Raze and Uriel and can’t wait to see what the author has in store for us yet!

If you are looking for a fast-paced, character driven, science fiction themed romance, then Electrify His Heart might be the book for you! I’m anxious to read the next book, Short Circuit his Soul to see what happens to these characters next!

Highly Recommended!

Reviewed By: Gabbi

BUY LINK

Leave a Reply

