Kindred Spirits by Alicia Dyal


Title: Kindred Spirits
Author: Alicia Dyal
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Pages: 49
Characters: Casey, Mike
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Contemporary Romance
Kisses: 2.5




Blurb:

Casey’s a hotshot bartender in Chicago, but that doesn’t mean he’s not sensitive. Though uncharacteristic, Casey lets a big, charismatic Tennessee bear named Mike seduce him. Who can explain the laws of attraction? No matter, Casey’s hooked, and he knows what he wants. Unfortunately, Mike’s only in town for the weekend. But then, Casey and Mike’s shot at something more is interrupted by Casey’s brother’s death.

Casey sets out to accomplish making his brother’s dream come true, but that means quitting his job and moving to Tennessee. Months later, while still trying to cope with his loss, he runs into Mike, who’s running a bar he’s inherited from his father, and he happens to be looking for a new bartender. Casey and Mike reconnect, but the ghosts of their loved ones might ruin their chance for love.

Review:

Alicia Dyal is a new author for me. I was definitely interested in reading this book, I actually loved the title and artwork, but I admit I was a tad bit disappointed in it.

I don’t know why I didn’t connect well with these two men. Both are mature and interesting adults. I also liked that one of these men *Mike* isn’t your typical romance hero. I liked that he was a bit of a bear and older. I understood why Casey thought he was sexy, but for some reason, I never could get behind them as a couple.

Not sure why really. Both are likeable. Both are responsible. They even had good chemistry between them at times. I admit, my mind wandered off a little while I read this book, I just had a hard time with it keeping my interest.

I think I got lost in the vague description of things. Maybe. I never completely understood exactly how big Mike was. One moment I envisioned him being about the size on the cover, the next, much larger. There were a few other things I was confused about, but maybe it’s just me.

Also, there is practically NO sex in this book. Now, this is okay with me, but I needed more chemistry between them for this to really resonate with me. I also thought the ending was a little abrupt. I think this could have been a really good read had the story been a little fleshed out and a little longer.

Kindred Spirits is a sweet story. I think Ms. Dyal has a lot of potential and I probably would read something else written by her. If you are looking for a hero that isn’t your typical, physical romance hero, this could be the book for you. Also, if you’d like to read a story without sex, but with men who are sexually attracted to each other, then this one could be for you too.

Reviewed By: Gabbi

Click HERE for Dreamspinner Press

Leave a Reply

