Johnnie by Cardeno C.


Title: Johnnie
Author: Cardeno C.
Publisher: The Romance Authors
Pages: 164
Characters: Hugh Langley, Johnnie
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Paranormal Romance, Series
Kisses: 5+


Blurb:

A Premier lion shifter, Hugh Landry dedicates his life to leading the Berk pride with strength and confidence. Hundreds of people depend on Hugh for safety, success, and happiness. And at over a century old, with more power than can be contained in one body, Hugh relies on a Siphon lion shifter to carry his excess force.

When the Siphon endangers himself and therefore the pride, Hugh must pay attention to the man who has been his silent shadow for a decade. What he learns surprises him, but what he feels astounds him even more.
Two lions, each born to serve, rely on one another to survive. After years by each other’s side, they’ll finally realize the depth of their potential, the joy in their passion, and a connection their kind has never known.

Review:

Sometimes I’m lucky to read a book so beautiful and well-written it literally lives inside of my head for days after I’ve finished reading it. When I picked up Johnnie by Cardeno C., I was immediately swept up into these two characters’ lives and ended up reading their story from start to finish without any sort of a break.

To say I loved this story is an understatement. I’ve read just about everything this author has published and I’ve loved almost all of them, but this book, is not only one of my all-time favorite books it is my favorite by Cardeno C., as well.

Both characters lived and breathed off of the written page. Both are very flawed, but likeable men. There were times I honestly wanted to punch one of the main heroes, Hugh, in the face for allowing and participating in the way Johnnie was treated, *at first…read it and you’ll see how much this changes* but Hugh quickly redeems himself and really begins to see Johnnie not only as a member of the pack, but as a friend and then as a lover. Hugh is basically an all-around good guy. He has to sacrifice for his pack and because he is a lion shifter, they have a different mentality when it comes to relationships, loyalty, traditions and so on, but I loved how he was able to evolve and change for the better as the story continued.

Johnnie…oh my…I loved him so much. Since he is a Siphon, he’s been neglected for so long. He was lonely and lived such a sad existence until Hugh finally opened his eyes. Johnnie is one of those characters that I totally fell in love with. I wanted to comfort him when he was sad, cheer for him when he started to see himself as someone special and rally for his well-deserved happy ending.

Now, I must warn you…this story will most likely cause you to do the ugly cry. I know I did…twice. I think I went through several hankies, but oh my, it was worth my face being blotchy and red for several hours AFTER I finished the book.

Don’t let this deter you from buy this book in any way. Johnnie is a very uplifting story. It gave me many happy, feel-good moments too. Plus, the ending was one that left me with a big smile on my face and the need for Cardeno C. to hurry up and write MORE of this series…OMG…is the next one out yet? It’s not? Ugh!

Last but certainly not least, I really, really appreciated how this shifter romance did NOT read like anything else I’ve read. The politics were interesting, the shifters themselves were different and it was just an all-around fresh take on a well-loved genre.

If you are in the mood for a shifter romance, read this book. If you are in the mood for a story with just the right amount of angst, happy moments and romance, read this book. If you are in the mood for an all-around fantastic read that will live with you long after you finished it, read this book! I loved every second I spent reading Johnnie and I’m not ashamed to admit I read it again the next day. Johnnie is definitely going to be a book this reader will read again and again. I loved it and I can’t recommend it high enough…are you sure our highest rating can be only 5+ Kisses?

Highly Recommended!!!

Reviewed By: Gabbi

BUY LINK

Leave a Reply

