Foundation of Trust by AM Arthur

Title: Cost of Repairs, Book 5: Foundation of Trust
Author: AM Arthur
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Pages: 202
Characters: David Weller, Owen Hart
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Contemporary Romance
Kisses: 5


David Weller thought he had it all—a loving partner who gave him a ring, a steady job he didn’t hate, and so much hope for the future. But in the wake of a devastating diagnosis, everything he thought was solid and real lay in pieces at his feet.

Four years later, he’s still sifting through the rubble of his life. His catering partnership occupies his days, while his nights are filled with dangerous sexual hookups and very bad decisions. Then the last person he ever expected to see again walks back into his life.

Owen Hart’s single biggest regret is the way he was forced to leave David behind—no explanations, no chance to make it right. Until now. Finally free of eight years of lies, Owen’s back for the only man he’s ever loved.

An incendiary encounter in a club proves that time hasn’t weakened their physical connection, but David’s wounds run deeper than Owen’s deception. And if David can’t first forgive, Owen doesn’t have a second chance in hell.

Product Warnings
This book contains an Australian transplant with a head full of secrets, a party planner with enough baggage to sink a battleship, and a surly teenager who just wants them both to get over themselves.


When it comes to writing a story with grit, forgiveness, drama and a whole lot of romance, AM Arthur is definitely a master of it. The Cost of Repairs series has everything this reader craves when it comes to my greedy little reading heart. In my opinion, Foundation of Trust, just proves that this series just keeps getting better and better.

One of the thing I really loved about this book is the way each character really continues to grow and evolve throughout the story. When it begins, it is obvious that David is just going through life. For the past several years, David has been dealing with the devastation of his lover and soul mate, Owen, suddenly leaving his life practically without a trace. Even though he’s going through the motions of life, he’s not really healed. He’s done some reckless things to deal with the pain of losing Owen and the pain of having a debilitating disease. He’s hurt and lost in many ways, and when Owen suddenly reappears in his life, all of the suffering and pain he’s been through comes to surface.

Even though Owen wants him back, David doesn’t trust him. He knows he still loves Owen, but with the lack of trust and with the pain he’s suffered, David isn’t sure if he can even forgive Owen and truly welcome him back into his life.

Owen is determined to do the right thing. He’s never forgotten David and the beautiful life they once had together. He knows he must be patient and eat a lot of crow if he wants David back into his life, but in all honesty, it hasn’t been all sunshine and rainbows for him either. Owen knows he must come clean about his dark past and fears that once he does, he will lose David forever.

I loved these two men and Owen’s son, Michael, really resonated with me as a reader. I could feel their pain. Their hope and in the end, their determination to be together. Neither man is perfect and has many, many flaws. There were times I thought David was definitely self-destructive and I was glad to see him really want to work through the skeletons in his closet not only to be a better person, but a man on his way to healing and forgiving so he and Owen could have the happy life they deserve.

Another thing that I loved about this book is how their issues are NOT swept under the rug. They deal with their problems head on. There is a lot of anger, sadness and frustrations they work through. I enjoyed watching these two men really come to terms with everything and end up being stronger, more fulfilled men in the end.

I love this series and hope there will be more. Each of these characters live and breathe off of the written page and I would be proud to call any of them a personal friend of mine.

As I mentioned earlier, Foundation of Trust is the 5th book in the Cost of Repairs series. I highly recommend this series if you are looking for well-written characters that will live with you long after you finish the books.

The Cost of Repairs series in book order are:

Cost of Repairs
Color of Grace
Weight of Silence
Acts of Faith
Foundation of Trust

Highly Recommended!

Reviewed By: Gabbi


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.