The day I met Rick R. Reed

1799895_10154717418450510_1815363382117246311_o(1)

>Rick R. Reed

I’m sure you took a few moments to stop and stare right? Wait, here’s another.

10403882_10154703909335510_6696393219530118439_o

I met this fantastic man in person, in New Orleans at the GLR retreat…I remember the day as if it just happened. I’ll never forget it because to this day it was and is always will be a favorite fantastic moment in my life. The only other thing that could possibly get near to trumping it would be to meet John Saul. I’ve been a huge fan of his since I was a young(er) girl. And funny…if you look at the two pictures below they sorta look like each other…well to me they do!

John Saul

4387

Rick

29043_434611801256_4221114_n

I read a story written by Rick long before I discovered Facebook. Back when paperbacks were in and e-readers hadn’t even been born…that was some time ago…The book was Penance. Here’s a link for you: http://www.rickrreed.com/novelscollections.htm You’ll need to scroll down..and while you’re there, just look at how many lovely stories he’s written. Penance is a story meant to get you out of your comfy zone and into a world where everything that happens is a mouth opening and mind blowing experience. That story isn’t for the faint at heart. Not for romantics who need love and happy times, rainbows and unicorns all throughout that story. It’s a dark one, and one of my favorites to this day.

I still have that book. It’s the one with the original cover, not the newer one. It’s been well read and I actually had two copies. I sent one to Doug Starr a couple years ago. He didn’t know Rick wrote angsty. John Saul writes angst as well, just not to that degree. When I read that story, and gave into my darker side, I realized I wasn’t the only one who had those characters inside…Rick and John both are responsible for me being very comfortable writing on the angsty side!

Anyway, how I met Rick.

I was standing outside of the hotel we were all staying at for the retreat…I was talking to a couple other people when a cab pulled up and stopped. I looked over to see who was going to pop out and when that door opened, and he stepped out, I almost fell over. I had spoken to Rick a few times on Facebook, interviewed him, reviewed a few of his books for this site. We weren’t strangers. However, when that man got out of that cab I was frozen in place. All I could do was stare and blurt out…”That’s Rick! That’s him! OMG! He’s here!” and the people I was with I think may have laughed at me. I stood there staring at Mr. Rick R. Reed for the love of God. How could everyone just stand so still and not jump up and down? I did my best not to. LOL..It was a moment frozen in time for me. There I was standing there, staring with wide eyes, and he looked over and sorta tilted his head, he’s so polite and then he went inside. I about died right then and there.

FAN GURL moment~ That was truly one of the most memorable moments in my life. And I’m not a youngster here, so I’ve been around a while…but I was a stay at home mom, and worked from home full time for many years, and then I find a community of people I clicked with and then the opportunity to meet some of them came around and I was a happy little camper. When I realized Rick was going to be there I really was out of this world thrilled.

I think he must have thought I was just this side of nuts. I mean, sure he was probably used to people doing that when he shows up someplace, but I do think I may have hit the button on the OMG! meter that day. Then later, when we were all in a big room where we had our meals, we were sitting around and talking, and of course I went into how I got to see Rick get out of the cab…(Kid you not…I GOT to see him…) Yes, you get it. I was such a fan gurl that weekend. Anyone I met got a taste of it…HAHA!! I do not regret a moment of it. NOT a ONE…

Anyway, so we were all chatting later that day and I saw Rick talking to a few people, and the people I was with wanted to meet him in person. I said, well go over there, he’ll talk to you…no one did…they were too nervous. So, my happy ass got up, made my way right on over to him and asked him over.

1658491_10154686599705510_2692270865174588168_o

I was such an innocent thing back then! LMAO

Rick in my eyes is: Charismatic, Intelligent, Intellectual, easy going, Imaginative (real shocker there right?), Incredible, Interesting, Modest, Open Minded, Perceptive, Personable, Thoughtful and Trustworthy…I could actually go on and on but I’ll save some for you. He really is a diamond in this genre and I’m proud to call him my friend. It was a blessing to see him in person.

I still think I scared the shit out of him though. He’ll say I didn’t but…HAHA! Come on..I scare me.

THEN, imagine my surprise when we met up again in New Mexico…Not only did we both get to go…We actually got “stuck” at the same author table! OH the torture!

470574_156013407922386_35578462_o

Different Pics 081

1799895_10154717418450510_1815363382117246311_o(1)

It was torture for me to behave! I mean if any of you other lucky peeps out there have gotten the chance to sit with him at one of those events you’ll agree…right? He’s simply a wonderful person. I’ve never had a chance to meet someone that I admired and when I finally was granted that honor…I’m thrilled it was him.

Rick, you know how much I adore you…Keep that smile and much love to you, Lily, and Bruce!

1981808_10204407810228412_4721173556354940486_n

To see the many books this man has written you can visit his site below. He has a new one out too!

BLINK will be out January 23, 2015 (but available for pre-order here). This cover represents the awesomeness that is cover artist Reese Dante! And the story is my most autobiographical….

BLURB

Life can change in the blink of an eye.

That’s a truth Andy Slater learns as a young man in 1982, taking the Chicago ‘L’ to work every morning. Andy’s life is laid out before him: a good job, marriage to his female college sweetheart, and the white picket fence existence he believes in. But when he sees Carlos Castillo for the first time, Carlos’s dark eyes and Latin appeal mesmerize him. Fate continues to throw them together until the two finally agree to meet up. At Andy’s apartment, the pent-up passion of both young men is ignited, but is snuffed out by an inopportune and poorly-timed phone call.

Flash forward to present day. Andy is alone, having married, divorced, and become the father of a gay son. He’s comfortable but alone and has never forgotten the powerful pull of Carlos’s gaze on the ‘L’ train. He vows to find him once more, hoping for a second chance. If life can change in the blink of an eye, what will the passage of thirty years do? To find out, Andy begins a search that might lead to heartache and disappointment or a love that will last forever…

 

Of course I have many favorites he’s written…Bashed is one…grab the tissue!

Then there’s

AND of course : You can get that here: DSP

http://www.rickrreed.com/novelscollections.htm

Leave a Reply

