Grace R. Duncan is here to answer our burning questions!!

Please give a big Top 2 Bottom Welcome to the AMAZING, Grace R. Duncan!!
Grace

Welcome, Grace!
Thank you for taking some down time and spending it with us. Let’s start this off with a beverage. We have coffee, tea, some sort of juice (I think it’s been in here a few weeks) and soda. What would you like?

Oh, coffee all the way. I live on the stuff. Hmm, maybe that’s why it doesn’t work that much for me anymore

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I have been making up stories for a long time. Not quite so structured, of course, and not even written down for the longest time. Most of the stories I made up when I was younger stayed in my head. I love to read all sorts of books and stories and am fortunate to be able to write full time right now.

When you received news that your manuscript had been accepted what were the first words that fell from your mouth?

Uh, well, after I screamed, I think it was something along the lines of, “omgomgomgomgomgomgtheytookitI’mgoingtobepublishedomgomgomg!” I don’t think it was so much individual words as much as a lot of smashed together syllables.

What forces brought you over to the MM Genre and what made you want to write it?

I started out in fanfiction years ago. My first stories were het, but around Christmas of 2011, I sort of fell into m/m and yaoi. I’m not a huge fan of the stuff that is specifically yaoi, it was more the idea of two guys together that made me think. I liked the idea of taking two men, men who think like men, behave like men and put them together and see what happened. I didn’t read a lot of it yet, as I didn’t want to be unduly influenced. I had these guys in my head already, so I wanted to see what they’d do. Because men—gay, bi or straight—approach relationships differently, I thought it would be interested to explore that.

Would you care for some cookies? We have chocolate chip, peanut butter, oatmeal with or without raisins and a package of mystery ones. We have cake too. Your choice.

Hmmm, the mystery ones sound interesting. Might have to dig into that. *peers into the bag*

How many hours a day do you spending writing?

Truthfully, I don’t count them. I am usually up fairly early and after I get my promotional stuff done, spend the rest of it either researching, planning or writing. The actual writing is probably only a few hours, at most, but that’s what writers do, isn’t it? A huge chunk of promo, a mess of procrastination and a tiny bit of writing.😉

Do you write right through or do you revise as you go along?

I revise as I go. Sometimes, an idea will hit while I’m re-reading something that will spark an entire subplot. Not always, of course, but sometimes. When I sit down to write, I like to re-read the last chapter or few pages and that almost always involves revision and editing. I usually tell people I never really have a true ‘first draft’ because I spend too much time revising as I go.

When it comes to plotting, do you write freely or plan everything in advance?

It depends on the length of the story. I can (and sometimes do) write shorts straight through without plotting, though I may have a few ideas written down. Novels, however, I prefer to plot out. I find it goes together much more smoothly if I know where I’m going with it. I also get a lot more written if I have a good idea of what I’m wanting to write about.

Of your characters do you have a favorite and why?

This is a tough one. I have a lot of them that I really love. To some degree, they all have a little something of me in them. Teman is probably closest: the love of wandering, the submissive nature and the way he cares for people are all aspects of me. Bathasar, I think, is probably the ideal lover, but I have to be honest in that a chunk of him is inspired by my RL husband, so that’s probably not fair.😉 Right now, I’m working on a new story and one of my boys in there—Rafe—has really captured my heart.

Writers often go on about writer’s block. Do you ever suffer from it, and what measures do you take to get past it?

I do. Part of it depends on what causes it. Bad reviews can do that to me and it takes some work reading the good ones, reminding myself that everyone gets bad reviews (even J.K. Rowling!) and finally I can move on. I also have clinical depression, which can cause problems. There isn’t much I can do about it except work through the depression and wait. And sometimes, it’s because something in the story is stuck. Usually, if I go back and think though the situation, re-read the rest and go back over my notes, I can find what’s happened and get through it that way. If all else fails, I’ll read a bit of Chuck Wendig and his post on writer’s blog to remind me that most of the time… I’m just procrastinating.

Do you have a particular spot in your house that you call your comfy zone? (The place where you write.)

I have a corner of the living room that is my office. I used to have a closet but it felt just a wee bit closed in and now I have the front door open so I can see out when I need it. It’s the most productive place for me. Especially when I pull my wifi adapter and get off the internet.

When you’re in the mindset to write, do you put a sign up that warns others not to disturb you while at work?
Writer at work

There’s a reason I’m a writer and not an artist.😉

How would you describe your sense of humor? Who and what makes you laugh?

Geeky and a bit weird, honestly. I don’t like laughing at other people, so things like roasts and the like are usually not my cuppa. That said, however, I am otherwise pretty easily amused and tend to laugh at a lot of different types of jokes and humor.

What is the most frequently asked (author name) question?

“Why do you write m/m? What’s so interesting about that?” My usual reply is something along the lines of, “I love figuring out how two men make a relationship work.” Unless they’re obviously being nasty about it, then I tend to be a bit more crude: “It’s fun to see what I can do with two dicks.” That usually shuts them up.😉

What are you working on now?

Something that quite surprised me. I’d expected to jump into the third in my Golden Collar series or the second in the series with No Sacrifice. But I’d started writing a little flash story that grew into something much larger and I’ve been just following the inspiration for it. Old hurts, new understandings and a long road to forgiveness in this one. I expect it’ll be a tough one to read but in the end, I think it’ll work out well. Of course, it’ll work out well for the couple—I’m a sucker for happy endings. It just might be a rough road to get there for them.

What kind of books do you like to read outside of the MM Genre?

I’m a sucker for romance of all kinds, though I just don’t read a lot of het romance anymore. I do also enjoy fantasy – Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter are two of my all-time favorite series. And dystopian/post-apocalyptic follow very closely behind fantasy.

Pick one: Scientist, Astronaut, Retail, or Horse Trainer-

Oh, out of those, I’d have to say horse trainer. I do love riding horses and spending time with animals, in general.

Aside from writing, what else do you enjoy doing?

I love to play computer games, including the massively multiplayer online role-playing game, Lord of the Rings Online and The Sims 3. I don’t always get to play but I try to make time now and again. I also love to crochet but again don’t get a lot of opportunity.

Any special projects coming out soon we should watch for?

I’m going into edits soon for the next story in my post-pandemic world. The series is called The Pandemus Chronicles and this particular story—a novella—is called Healing. I rather got a bit stuck on Mark and Duncan and might end up actually writing more with them. I just don’t think they’re quite done with me yet.

Can you please tell us where we can find you on the Internet?

Oh, I’ve got way too many places I hang out. LOL

Website ◊ Facebook ◊ Twitter ◊ Youtube ◊ Goodreads

It was a pleasure having you here with us today. Please come by and let us know how you’re doing from time to time. OH! And before you leave, can I get your help here in the kitchen? Thanks!!

Thank you for inviting me! I’ll be happy to help!

No Sacrifice

Blurb:

Patrick has taken his acting talents from high school all the way to a role in a major television show. But as the show progresses, his life of absolute certainties crumbles when he finds himself reacting to the kisses of his male costar. He refuses to accept it, reminding himself he’s married and a father—and thus, straight.

One night he goes to drink his worries away, meets Chance Dillon, and can’t take his eyes off the man. After having a little too much alcohol, he spills his problem to Chance, who helps him realize there’s something other than gay and straight. Patrick’s new understanding of his bisexual identity helps him sleep better—until the next day, when he discovers Chance is a sound technician on the same set.

As their friendship grows and Patrick’s marriage ends, he recognizes a possibility for much more with Chance. But Patrick isn’t ready to be out the way Chance has been for so long, and when the matter is taken out of Patrick’s hands, he pushes Chance away to spare him the mess Patrick’s life has become. By the time he realizes his mistake, it may be too late.

Preorder link: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=5106
Rafflecopter: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/3797bd2/

While the physical stuff is for US only, I am more than happy to send a signed, decorated bookmark or the like internationally. Feel free to contact me anywhere below.

Author’s Bio:

Grace Duncan grew up with a wild imagination. She told stories from an early age – many of which got her into trouble. Eventually, she learned to channel that imagination into less troublesome areas, including fanfiction, which is what has led her to writing male/male erotica.

A gypsy in her own right, Grace has lived all over the United States. She has currently set up camp in East Texas with her husband and children – both the human and furry kind.

As one of those rare creatures who loves research, Grace can get lost for hours on the internet, reading up on any number of strange and different topics. She can also be found writing fanfiction, reading fantasy, crime, suspense, romance and other erotica or even dabbling in art.

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

