The Fabulous Damian Serbu is here to answer some of our Burning Questions!!

Thank you for taking some down time and spending it with us. Let’s start this off with a beverage. We have coffee, tea, some sort of juice (I think it’s been in here a few weeks) and soda. What would you like?

Hmm, last time I had a Jack and Coke when we were together. How about a nice bottle of wine this time? No! Wait! My newest novel is about pirates, so we need to roll out a barrel of rum. It’s late afternoon, and I’m ready to unwind for a while.

Woo Hoo!! Looks like we’re going to PARTY!

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

Well, here’s the official blurb: Damian Serbu lives in Chicagoland with his partner and dogs, Akasha and Chewbacca. The dogs control his life, tell him what to write, and threaten to eat him in the middle of the night if he disobeys. He is author of The Vampire’s Angel Series (The Vampire’s Angel, The Vampire’s Quest, and The Vampire’s Witch), as well as Dark Sorcerer Threatening, The Pirate Witch, and Secrets in the Attic. Keep up to date with him on Facebook, Twitter, or at http://www.DamianSerbu.com. When I’m not writing, I love hanging with friends and family, reading, and am an avid fan of Cleveland sports. Oh, and Paul and I love to travel.

When you received news that your manuscript had been accepted what were the first words that fell from your mouth?

Cool beans! I spent a lot of time studying the actual history of pirates for this one. It’s part gay romance, part my horror stuff with witches and the like, and a chunk of history. So I was glad they accepted it, after all that work!


What forces brought you over to the MM Genre and what made you want to write it?

Use the Force, Luke. It will draw you to the MM Genre. It must have been watching Darth Vader while I was growing up.

Would you care for some cookies? We have chocolate chip, peanut butter, oatmeal with or without raisins and a package of mystery ones. We have cake too. Your choice.

Oatmeal cookies, no raisins, but let’s throw some butterscotch chips on top to spice it up.

How many hours a day do you spending writing?

I try to spend 4-5 hours a week on it. Since I have to have a day job, so I can eat and survive, I don’t have as much time to write as I would like. But that keeps me busy. Also, I get huge chunks done when we drive somewhere. Paul loves to drive and I hate to drive, so he happily drives while I sit next to him, writing away. We went to see friends in Cleveland last weekend, and I wrote almost the entire five hour trip!

Do you write right through or do you revise as you go along?

I always revise what I wrote the previous time before I begin writing the new stuff. It helps me to tighten it up and then gets me in the mood to push the story forward again.

When it comes to plotting, do you write freely or plan everything in advance?

Am I allowed to say both? Lol. I know, what the hell kind of answer is that? I start with a plan, an outline. It guides me. But I also allow for new possibilities and sudden and unexpected changes. So the muse guides the process, as much as the outline. Just the other day, I diverted from the outline by adding an entire chapter! But once I got that done, I went back to the basic structure.

Of your characters do you have a favorite and why?

That’s like asking a mom if she has a favorite kid! Or if I have a favorite dog! It’d make me sad. But I’ll say this, I really got into writing The Pirate Witch because I really concentrated on making my characters completely different from previous ones. So Alexander MacBeth, the main character, is unique for my writing. And the pirate captain kicks ass!

Writers often go on about writer’s block. Do you ever suffer from it, and what measures do you take to get past it?

Nope. Never had it. I can’t even fathom such a thing.

Do you have a particular spot in your house that you call your comfy zone?
I just plug away in my office. I sit next to the window, with a paining my brother did for me hanging above my computer. Really, once I get into the zone, I almost don’t notice my surroundings. I’m lost in the novel’s setting by then. So I’ve spent a lot of time in the last year on a pirate ship!

When you’re in the mindset to write, do you put a sign up that warns others not to disturb you while at work?

I write when I’m alone, because people would drive me nuts. So I don’t write much when anyone is around that could bother me. Only the dogs. But they’re allowed because they’re in charge.

We know the feeling! LOL!

How would you describe your sense of humor? Who and what makes you laugh?

Sarcastic. Very, very sarcastic.

What is the most frequently asked (author name) question?

Hard to say. Though of late, a lot of people have been asking me about the growing interest from straight women in M/M romance. They want to know what I think about it, and where I think it came from. I can answer the first part – I love it! I have a lot of female readers now, which is so totally cool. And there is some great stuff in the M/M genre being written by women. Hey, the more the merrier! Now, as to the why or where it came from, the women themselves are better equipped to answer that question than me!

What are you working on now?

Publicity for The Pirate Witch! So, let me drop the blurb for it right here: A winter storm in 1692 blows Alexander MacBeth’s life onto a perilous path when his dying mother pleads for him to survive. Alexander must learn his powers of witchcraft while concealing them from those who want him dead, even as the noble and handsome Crispin Nottingham steals his heart. Forced to flee Massachusetts aboard a pirate ship, Alexander struggles to protect himself from an evil witch while falling in love with the pirate captain. When Crispin, on behalf of His Majesty’s Navy, hunts for their ship, Alexander again confronts a chaos of events and emotions that may very well undermine his mother’s last wish.


Wow! It’s looks great!! Thanks for sharing it with us!

Writing is obviously not just how you make your living, but your life-style as well. What do you do to keep the creative “spark” alive – both in your work and out of it?

Crazy thing, I don’t have to. If anything, it sparks away all the time without my doing a thing. I get stories floating through my brain with no warning. I’m walking along, or dusting, or driving to work and BAM! New story floods my brain.

What kind of books do you like to read outside of the MM Genre?

Vampire stories. Or other horror.

Pick one: Scientist, Astronaut, Retail, or Horse Trainer-

I might have said astronaut, until watching Sandra Bulloch float around and spin all over the place. So Horse Trainer. I love animals
.

I know, right? Sandra’s movie changed a lot of minds…lol

Aside from writing, what else do you enjoy doing?

Is reading too close to writing? Cheering for the Browns, Cavaliers, and Indians! Drinking wine with Paul. Jogging.

Any special projects coming out soon we should watch for?

The previously mentioned The Pirate Witch is now available!!

Can you please tell us where we can find you on the Internet?

http://www.DamianSerbu.com. Or I’m on Twitter and Facebook, just link to them through my website!

It was a pleasure having you here with us today. Please come by and let us know how you’re doing from time to time. OH! And before you leave, can I get your help here in the kitchen? Thanks!!

Let’s throw the wine glasses in the fireplace and watch them shatter all over. One of my best friends wanted to do that at Christmas, and now it’s been with me ever since. Come on! It’ll be fun!

Absolutely! *Throws glass*

Leave a Reply

