A Better Man by Jaime Reese


Title: The Men of Halfway House, Book 1: A Better Man
Author: Jaime Reese
Publisher: Romandeavor
Pages: 357
Characters: Matthew Doner, Julian Capeletti
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Contemporary Romance, Series
Kisses: 4.5


Blurb:

Matthew Doner is starting over. After a five-year prison term that alters every aspect of his life, he receives a bequest from his aunt with the stipulation that he use the money to make things right. Breaking free of the long-standing role he’s played and inspired by the few who support him, he decides to create a safe place where people like him can find purpose and start a new life.

Julian Capeletti likes challenges. He is confident, brash, stubborn, and just what Matt needs. Desperate for work after a downturn of luck, he accepts the job to renovate Matt’s crumbling building.

Over the course of a year, romance simmers between them as they restore the house. But there’s a bigger renovation that must take place in their hearts. To become better men, they need to learn to trust each other even with secrets and painful memories they fear may rip them apart.

Review:

To my knowledge this is the first book I’ve read by this author, but after reading it, I plan on reading as much as I can from Ms. Reese. I really liked her characters and the story itself was a smooth and interesting read.

Since the blurb does an excellent job at describing the book, I won’t rehash much of it. Instead, I thought I’d talk about why I liked this book and why I easily recommend it.

As a reader, I really appreciated the time Ms. Reese took at allowing the two heroes to get to know each other and really build on their relationship. Don’t get me wrong, the physical chemistry between them was very apparent between them. I liked how strongly attracted they were to each other, but I loved how their relationship developed from strangers, to friends to much, much more.

Since both men have their own issues they must deal with, as well as, dealing with past hurts, it takes time for each man to open up and trust one other. I thought Ms. Reese handled these issues in a very realistic way. It’s not easy to trust and open your heart to someone, and so I enjoyed watching these two men break down the barriers between them and form a truly special relationship.

Between the addictive storyline and the well-written characters, A Better Man is definitely a book not to be missed. I’m looking forward to reading more from Ms. Reese in the future and recommend this book for those who enjoy a strong plot and sexy characters in their romances.

Highly Recommended!

Reviewed By: Gabbi

BUY LINK

Leave a Reply

