Stars and Stripes: A Bedtime Story by Susan Laine

Title: Stars and Stripes: A Bedtime Story
Author: Susan Laine
Publisher: Siren Bookstrand
Pages: 116
Characters: Lincoln Redding, Ned Dove
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Western, Historical, Erotic Romance
Kisses: 5


Sheriff Jesse Brown tells his restless cowboy lover, Clayton Jennings, a bedtime story… Snow Lake, 1883.

Sheriff Lincoln “Linc” Redding is tracking an escaped prisoner through the wilderness of Wyoming. The young man, Edwin “Ned” Dove, is accused of theft, his victim a military officer staying at Bernadette’s Boarding House. Dove was being transported to Fort Laramie to stand trial when he somehow managed to flee.

As Lincoln follows the trail and finally catches up with Dove, he learns things aren’t quite so black and white. Lincoln is forced to accept that a tin star on his chest doesn’t mean he has all the answers, or that just because a man wears a striped prison uniform doesn’t mean he’s guilty. It seems illicit conspiracies exist in the seedy underbelly of his town.

Lincoln’s loyalties are divided between doing his duty and falling for a man he shouldn’t.


Give me a book written by Susan Laine and I am one happy reader! One the the things I love about Ms. Laine’s books is the way her characters really seem to connect on both an emotional and physical level. There is a true bond that forms between them, and it’s because of this that keeps this reader reading her stories from start to finish in one setting.

What I really loved about this book was how well rounded and fast-paced the storyline is. Not only does it have a very strong romance between the two men, there is plenty of character growth, adventure and nail-biting action that kept this reader on the edge of her seat. The two heroes were easy to love and so much fun to get to know. I loved their chemistry and the way they came together as a team to defeat the bad guys, so they can have a happy future together.

Stars and Stripes: A Bedtime Story is the 6th book in the Cowboys of Snow Lake series. Although it’s always best to read a series in book order, Stars and Stripes: A Bedtime Story can definitely be read as a stand-alone in the series.

The Cowboys of Snow Lake series in book order are:

Rivers of Wind
Rivers of Passion
Mending Fences
Cowboy’s Challenge
Hard and Raw
Stars and Strips: A Bedtime Story

Reviewed By: Gabbi



  1. Pingback: Vintage: Stars and Stripes by Susan Laine – Velvetpanic

  2. Pingback: Retro Favorites: Stars and Stripes, A Bedtime Story by Susan Laine – Rainbow Historical Connection

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.