A Cupid’s Wager by Deanna Wadsworth


Title: A Cupid’s Wager
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Author: Deanna Wadsworth
Pages: 70
Sub-Genre: Urban Fantasy, Mythology, Humour, Other Paranormal, Holiday
Kisses: 4.75




Blurb:

The name’s Lio, and I’m cupid working for the Gay Division of the Inter-Dimensional Association of Cupids. An Aztec god, whose modern name, Ethan, doesn’t make him any less scary, just busted me shooting a closeted human with a gay lust arrow. I might find him sexy with all those tattoos and piercings, if I didn’t have a rule against getting it on with other supernaturals – especially ones working for the Straight Division. Now, to save my butt I’ll have to strike a bargain with this tough god. But what I didn’t see coming was my little wager not only risks my career, but places my broken heart completely in Ethan’s hands.

Review:

This novella grabbed my attention on the first page then dipped before picking back up and racing to a very hot and sexy end that left me wanting more.

Lio is a gay Cupid working for the Gay Division of the Inter-Dimensional Association of Cupids. Ethan is a straight Aztec God who works for the Straight Division of IDAC and he far outranks Lio in power. Lio has the rule to never ever indulge in sexual relations with another supernatural being after having most of his powers ripped from him in a past relationship. Being busted by Ethan for shooting a straight guy destined to be hit by one of Ethan’s everlasting love arrows, with an unauthorized gay lust arrow, forces Lio into making a wager with Ethan.
The outcome of the wager is totally unforeseen by Lio and whilst as a reader I did suspect the result, the reasons behind it left me really wanting the story to continue.

Previously I have read Deanna Wadsworth’s novel Easy Rider. In that book I loved the depth of the characters and the details of the world it was set in. A Cupid’s Wager as a novella is much shorter but the world is still built with close attention to detail which I really appreciated and the characters have far more depth than Ms. Wadsworth has time to explore in 70 pages, another reason I wished this book was longer.

I strongly recommend this book if you’re looking for a quick sexy read perfect for enjoying curled up in the warm when it’s cold outside.

Reviewed by Smidgeson

BUY LINK

Leave a Reply

