The Awesome Christie Gordon ends our eXtasy Spotlight with her answers to our burning questions…

Hi Christie! Welcome to Top 2 Bottom Reviews!

Thank you, Christie for taking some down time and spending it with us. Let’s start this off with a beverage. We have coffee, tea, some sort of juice (I think it’s been in here a few weeks) and soda. What would you like?

I’m a definite coffee drinker.

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I’m a single mother of two boys and I work during the day in marketing for a high tech company. I also have a pretty busy social schedule, so finding time for writing and drawing is really hard.

When you received news that your manuscript had been accepted what were the first words that fell from your mouth?

Actually, that was a while ago (6 books ago), but I believe they were, Oh my God! Then I immediately called up anyone who’d listen.

What forces brought you over to the MM Genre and what made you want to write it?

I originally started out watching anime. I think I was on a Gundam Seed Destiny and Fullmetal Alchemist kick at the time. I started reading some fanfiction and noticed a ton of yaoi stories out there. In fact, it seemed like the yaoi stories were far popular than the hetero stories. I was also a big, big fan of Brokeback Mountain. So I suppose the next step was to start writing yaoi or M/M Romance myself. And I did

Would you care for some cookies? We have chocolate chip, peanut butter, oatmeal with or without raisins and a package of mystery ones. We have cake too. Your choice.

I’d like the oatmeal cookies, please.

How many hours a day do you spending writing?

Not enough as I’d like. As I said, I have a lot going on in my life, so if I get one hour in every day, I’m happy. Sometimes on the weekend I get two hours.

Do you write right through or do you revise as you go along?

I usually revise as I go along. I usually find the best way to pick up where I left off is to edit the section I wrote the day before and then I’m able to push on.

When it comes to plotting, do you write freely or plan everything in advance?

I used to be a strict pantser, but during my latest novel, Secrets, I had some plot holes I had to get rid of and I found it really helpful to make a plot spreadsheet to help me out and plan a few things before I rewrote. On the current book I’m working on, which is the third book in my vampire series, In Life and Blood, I’ve started with a very rough outline of the plot. Of course, I go off course a bit as I write with new things popping up in my head. Then I have to go back and rethink my spreadsheet.

Of your characters do you have a favorite and why?

It seems my favorite character is always one in the latest book I’m writing. Right now, it has to be Christian from Secrets. He’s a very complicated guy, being a bad boy rocker and biker who also has a very sweet heart if you catch him. Though, he can be a real ass if you get on the wrong side of him. I do like characters that have opposite sides to themselves.

Writers often go on about writer’s block. Do you ever suffer from it, and what measures do you take to get past it?

Yes, my last book took me 2 years to write. When you consider I can normally write a book in about 6 months, this was really not normal for me. There was a ton going on in my life with moving, getting a new job and issues with my ex-husband. The funny thing is, I think a lot of it got translated into the book along the way.

Do you have a particular spot in your house that you call your comfy zone?

I have a bedroom that’s been turned into a home office where I write and draw. But I do find that sometimes the best spot is just on my bed with a laptop.

When you’re in the mindset to write, do you put a sign up that warns others not to disturb you while at work?

I do my best and seem to have a lot of problems with this. I schedule what days I want to write, tell everyone in my house, close the dang door and then I get interrupted every few minutes! I’ve been really trying to tell my kids and boyfriend to stay out when the door is closed…but they don’t seem to get it, which can be really frustrating.

How would you describe your sense of humor? Who and what makes you laugh?

I have a very sarcastic sense of humor I think and I’m also very apt to poke fun at myself. I’m the kind of person that, if I fall down somewhere, I’ll sit there and laugh instead of being embarrassed by it. Some of my favorites comedy routines are Monty Python and I love dumb comedies like Airplane, Dude, Where’s my Car (love the Chinese food scene) and of course, The Hangover. Mars Attacks is really funny to me, too, because my sister pointed out to me that the aliens sort of sound like our mother!

What is the most frequently asked Christie Gordon question?

Can you do a commission for me, LOL. I don’t think people ask me anything else.

What are you working on now?

Right now I’m editing my next release, Secrets, and writing the third in my vampire series, In Life and Blood.

Writing is obviously not just how you make your living, but your life-style as well. What do you do to keep the creative “spark” alive – both in your work and out of it?

The best creative spark I have, honestly, is watching anime. I don’t know what it is about those Japanese cartoons, but they always give me ideas.

What kind of books do you like to read outside of the MM Genre?

Believe it or not, I don’t read books. I don’t have time.

Pick one: Scientist, Astronaut, Retail, or Horse Trainer-
Scientist

Aside from writing, what else do you enjoy doing?

I’m an artist, so digital drawing is my thing. It really helps me to shut down for a little bit. If left to my own devices, I can sit and draw for a whole day without eating. Other than that, I’m a big fan of running and yoga.

Any special projects coming out soon we should watch for?

Yes, my next novel is Secrets.

Can you please tell us where we can find you on the Internet?

My website is: http://www.christiegordon.com
I’ve just revamped it, so hopefully everyone will like what I’ve done with it. At my website, there are links to everywhere else I can be found—and there are a lot of places.

It was a pleasure having you here with us today. Please come by and let us know how you’re doing from time to time. OH! And before you leave, can I get your help here in the kitchen? Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

