Please give a Big Top 2 Bottom Welcome to the Amazing Stephani Hecht!!

Welcome, Stephani Hecht!! We’re thrilled you’re here!

Thank you, Stephani for taking some down time and spending it with us.

Let’s start this off with a beverage. We have coffee, tea, some sort of juice (I think it’s been in here a few weeks) and soda. What would you like?

I’d like some coffee with some caramel flavored creamer, please. I live on that stuff. Just don’t tell my doctor since he told me I couldn’t have any more caffeine. That little sadist.

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I’m just your average mom, who happens to have several tattoos, dress in clothing that has skulls and zombies on it, and write M/M romance. So, I’m completely normal. LOL

What forces brought you over to the MM Genre and what made you want to write it?

I didn’t realize it until a good friend pointed it out to me, but it was because of my son, Cody. He was still in the closet at the time and that was my way of telling him that I would accept him. After he came out, I continued to write the genre because I wanted to show that everybody deserves a HEA.

Would you care for some cookies?

We have chocolate chip, peanut butter, oatmeal with or without raisins and a package of mystery ones. We have cake too. Your choice. Cookies!!!!!! I’ll take all your peanut butter ones. They have always been kryptonite.

How many hours a day do you spending writing?

12-16 hours a day. It depends on what I have going on.

Do you write right through or do you revise as you go along?

I usually right through and go back and fix it later.

When it comes to plotting, do you write freely or plan everything in advance?

I try plotting ahead, but it never fails, I always jump of the plotting and end up doing my own thing. I’m a little stinker like that.

Of your characters do you have a favorite and why?

Shane. I always root for the wounded underdog. Sure, Shane may be a tad the crazy side, but I can overlook that.


Writers often go on about writer’s block. Do you ever suffer from it, and what measures do you take to get past it?

If I go through writer’s block, I call my sister, Jackie Nacht and we talk until we get the block hammered out. That’s one of the pros of having another author in the family.

Do you have a particular spot in your house that you call your comfy zone?

(The place where you write.) Right now, it’s on my couch. The dogs like to jump up and cuddle with me. With how cold it’s been outside, I need their extra body heat.

When you’re in the mindset to write, do you put a sign up that warns others not to disturb you while at work?

In a way I do. I put my ear buds in. That is my do not bother me, signal. It usually works. But sometimes my daughter will still come over and pull them out if she thinks she has something very important to tell me.

How would you describe your sense of humor? Who and what makes you laugh?

I’m really snarky, which gets me in trouble sometimes. Like for example, my father walked into a glass wall at the gym the other day and I’m still laughing about that.

What is the most frequently asked question?

People love Shane, so it’s usually questions about him. Don’t worry readers, I promise to never kill him off, so you rest easy. LOL


What are you working on now?

Right now I am working on the first book in my new series The Flushing Owl Series. I hope that everybody will like it as much as I do.

Writing is obviously not just how you make your living, but your life-style as well. What do you do to keep the creative “spark” alive – both in your work and out of it?

I love to people watch. If you just spend 10 minutes doing it, you’d be amazed at the amount of plot bunnies you’d find.

What kind of books do you like to read outside of the MM Genre?

I love True Crime books, history books and YA.

Pick one: Scientist, Astronaut, Retail, or Horse Trainer-
Astronaut.

I would love to be able to float in space. Just so long as I get lost like Sandra Bullock.

Aside from writing, what else do you enjoy doing?

I love meeting with my writing buddies for coffee. We have so much fun talking about the industry and just gabbing about everyday life.

Any special projects coming out soon we should watch for?

My new series The Flushing Owl Series.

Can you please tell us where we can find you on the Internet?

You can email me anytime at stephani@stephanihecht.com or FB me at http://www.facebook.com/stephani.hecht

It was a pleasure having you here with us today. Please come by and let us know how you’re doing from time to time. OH! And before you leave, can I get your help here in the kitchen? Thanks!!

Thank you for having me!

Leave a Reply

