Love Rising by Piper Vaughn


Title: Love Rising
Author: Piper Vaughn
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Pages: 42
Characters: Francis Holland, Wick
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Fantasy,
Kisses: 5


Blurb:

An Isla Sagrario Story

In the 1700s on the island of Sagrario, men who love other men find safe haven. For Francis Holland, an escaped indentured servant, Sagrario offers nothing but loneliness. His life begins to change when he finds Wick, a merman, washed ashore.

When Wick awakens under Francis’s care, Francis returns him to the sea at his request. Soon after, they begin to meet in secret, and gradually, Francis blossoms under this new companionship. However, a merman is a difficult creature to entrust one’s heart to. With one trapped on land and the other at sea, the differences in their species threaten to keep them apart forever. It may not be long before Wick is gone, taking Francis’s reason to smile with him.

Review:

I’ve read several books by Piper Vaughn and I’ve enjoyed them all. Ms. Vaughn has a knack of writing sexy, well-written characters that live and breathe off of the written page.

What I liked about this book was the freshness of the storyline. I haven’t personally read a lot of these type of stories, and I really enjoyed the way the author executed the relationship between the two men, despite the culture and language barrier between them.

I also liked how Francis was able to find his hope and reason for living. I enjoyed watching his character go from a person who is existing to a man who has something to look forward too. Since the book is through his POV, I found Francis very easy to like and I totally understood why he was so enamored with the mysterious Wick.

I do wish we could have learned more about the mysterious Wick. I would have loved to have known more about his culture and where he really came from, but in saying this, I think Ms. Vaughn wrote a very tight, romantic story that I truly loved. If you are looking for a unique and sexy love story, this book is definitely for you!

Highly Recommended!

Reviewed By: Gabbi

BUY LINK

Leave a Reply

