Beyond the Darkness by Stormy Glenn


Title: Dark Court, Book 1: Beyond the Darkness
Author: Stormy Glenn
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Pages: 95
Characters: Zack Banning, Elijin
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal, Series
Kisses: 4.5


Blurb:

Dark Court: Book 1

Nothing in Zack Banning’s life makes sense. Not the head injury that ended his career, and certainly not the sexy dreams he’s been having about a mysterious blue-eyed stranger who seems to know exactly how to send Zack straight into the flames of ecstasy with every touch. Zack can’t decide what disturbs him more—how much he longs for the dreams to be real or the fact that they feature another man.

Eljin has spent the last several months frightened and alone. The single bright spot was the tentative connection he forged with Zack, a fellow captive with no memory of their encounter. Desperate to return across the veil but unwilling to leave Zack in danger, Eljin sets out to convince Zack of the miracle that holds them together before the forces conspiring against Eljin’s entire race pull them apart forever.


Review:

When I’m in the mood for an imaginative, sexy read Stormy Glenn is one of my ‘go to’ authors. I’ve read many books by her and I’ve enjoyed every one of them. I really like how her creative mind works, and one of the things I really enjoyed about this book in particular was the twists and turns the storyline had throughout the novel.

The blurb does a great job at describing the story, so I won’t rehash a lot of it. What I will talk about is why I liked this book and why I recommend it.

The chemistry between Elijin and Zack is pretty intense. Zack sees himself as ‘straight’ until he meets Eligin, but once he finally admits his passion and feelings for him, Zack will do anything within his power to keep his man safe.

It was easy to like both Elijin and Zack. Both men are honorable, intelligent and sexy heroes that live and breathe off of the written page. As their story continued, I quickly found myself believing in their love and hoped they find a way to stay together. Believe me when I say, it’s not an easy ride for either of them, but the outcome definitely left a smile on this reader’s face.

I also loved the fantasy/sci-fi aspect of the story. I enjoyed the back-story between the seelie and unseelie courts and I also liked the twist Ms. Glenn gave to the men of the higher courts. I really don’t want to give this part away, but I will say that it does push the boundaries of believability, but it was soooo much fun to read. This book was a pure, sexy escape from my everyday life and I loved every minute of it.

There is a lot of action and romance in this story and it kept this reader’s interest until I read the entire book from start to finish without stopping. Ms. Glenn kept the story flowing quite smoothly throughout the novel. Between her sexy and interesting characters to her creative storytelling ability, it was easy to totally fall in love with the characters and I look forward to the next book in the series.

Reviewed By: Gabbi

BUY LINK

Leave a Reply

