Under the Australian Sky by AJ Kelton


Title: Under the Australian Sky
Author: AJ Kelton
Publisher: MLR Press
Pages: 152
Characters: Jack Vanderhorn, Ethan McCarthy
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Time-Travel, Fantasy, Romance
Kisses: 4.5


Blurb:

What would you do if you suddenly found yourself transported back in time?

Being a farmer in the 1800’s is hard; being a gay farmer even harder. Ethan has given up on finding his soul mate until a strangely dressed man wanders onto his land spouting nonsense about phones and cars. Jack is King of the one night stands, refusing to give anyone his heart until a chance encounter with Christian, a matchmaker longing to earn his cupid wings, sends Jack back in time. Can Jack give his heart to Ethan or will he become another conquest? Will Christian ever earn his cupid wings? Will they find love under the Australian sky?

Review:

From the very beginning, Under the Australian Sky peaked my interest. I’m a huge fan of time-travel romances, so I was excited to read and review this book.

Christian is determined to get his “Cupid” wings. He knows he’s the best matchmaker out there and he’s sick of not being rewarded for all of his hard work. He’ll do just about anything to get his wings, even if it means successfully matching an almost unmatchable man. He’s determined to find this man, Jack, his true-love and forever partner…so what if it means breaking a rule or three, right?

Jack has a love ‘em and leave ‘em attitude and he likes it that way. He’s rich, handsome and although he has different man on his arm every night, he’s become a little bored with his life. When he meets the sweet looking Christian, Jack finds himself opening up to him. Christian is interesting and definitely GREAT in bed, but a quick one-nighter is really all he wants from him. When he wakes up in the middle of the outback he’s both furious and confused. What in the world did Christian do to him? Jack is alone in what looks like a deserted place and no amount of money or power will get him out of the situation he’s found himself in.

Ethan is a hardworking farmer who lives in the middle of the outback. He works from sun up to sun down to survive and is lonely and craves a friend and lover in his life. But since it’s the late 1800’s and being with another man is strictly forbidden, Ethan believes he’ll always be alone in his life. When he comes across a handsome and seemingly confused, Jack, on his land, Ethan is immediately intrigued by the man…even if he is crazy as a loon…sprouting nonsense about things like cell phones and cars…what in the world is he talking about?

I’m stopping my description of the story right here because I don’t want to give anything away. Needless to say, I really loved this book. I loved the way these two men really seemed to have a strong bond between them. I enjoyed watching their relationship evolve as the book progressed. They become friends and I enjoyed the trust and respect that these two men had for each other. I loved watching this friendship develop into love and adored seeing the ‘playboy’ Jack fall for the sweet and innocent Ethan.

Another thing I really loved about the book was the setting of the story itself. I thought the authors did a really good job at almost making Australia as a character itself. It was easy for me to envision being there. I could almost feel the heat, see the outback and experience the harsh life that Ethan lived.

The story is also very well-written and fast paced. In fact, there wasn’t a lot that I didn’t love about it, but I do admit my feelings for Christian kind of changed throughout the story. At first I really loved his spunk and determination to get his wings, but I didn’t like how he put himself as a constant temptation toward Jack. Even though I didn’t care for this, it didn’t take away from the story in general for me, so I still loved the story in the end.

Under the Australian Sk
y is a gripping tale of two men finding true love against all odds. Romantic and heartfelt, this book lived in my heart long after I finished the story. If you are looking for a well-written, time-travel romance with two men who are fated to be together, then this would be a great choice for you! Highly Recommended!

Reviewed By: Gabbi

BUY LINK

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

