AJ Kelton from MLR Press is here to have tea with us!

welcome

 

 

Hello, Angel and Jordan, thank you for taking some down time and spending it with us. Let’s start this off with a beverage. We have coffee, tea, some sort of juice (I think it’s been in here a few weeks) and soda. What would you like?

 

Angel: Thank you for having us, it’s great to be here. I would take tea please.

Jordan: I’ll take a soda thank you just as long as it isn’t diet.

 

Wonderful. Charles! A tea, a full charged soda and a coffee if you will? While we wait on that, can you each tell us a little bit about yourselves?

Angel: I live in Southeast Texas, have been writing since I was in 6th grade. Have traveled and lived all over the US and Perth, Australia. I love the characters talking to me, except when they decide to become chatterboxes at 2 in the morning and keep me awake! Sometimes I wish my mind had an voice mail!

Jordan: Well I can tell you my mind is a scary place.  I live in a small town in Middle America. I tend to be a bit quirky, over confident, somewhat strange and well an absolute scatterbrain. I tell you I need handlers to get me through my day.

When you received news that your manuscript had been accepted what were the first words that fell from your mouth?

Angel: Oh my god! (of course Jordan was not home so I couldn’t tell him for hours!) So I called my parents!

Jordan: OMG

 

coffeeWonderful here’s Charles now. I believe your soda is behind the tea there. Please, if you’ll now tell us what forces brought you over to the MM Genre and what made you want to write it?

Angel: I’ve been writing since I was about 11, and was introduced to the MM Genre by Stargate SG-1 fanfiction. That opened doors for me that I didn’t know existed. And now, a circus full of animals couldn’t pull me away from the genre! 2 guys together… Yummmm!  Even better if they have long hair I can run my fingers through!

Jordan: Other than the fact that two guys together is hot? I can write about the man of my dreams and make myself the hero that gets him. Isn’t that what we all want, to find someone like they have in the stories, I am able to create my own happy ever after.

Would you care for some cookies? We have chocolate chip, peanut butter, oatmeal with or without raisins and a package of mystery ones. We have cake too. Your choice.

Angel: *takes a drink of tea*, chocolate chip cookie would taste good with this. Thank you!

Jordan: I think I’ll take the mystery cookies. I love a little surprise in life.

Great. Charles, you wouldn’t mind? You know I love you! Off you go now.

How many hours a day do you spending writing?

Angel: It depends on my hours at work. I try to spend at least 2 hours a day during the week in front of the computer working on stories. Weekends it depends, if I’m working then it’s only 2 or 3, but if I am off I like to do at least 8 hours.  Granted sometimes not a lot comes out of it.

Jordan: Not as much as I would like. I have this thing called a job which keeps getting in the way. I get in about two hours during the week and four of five on the weekend.

Oh yummy! Dig in! om-nom-nom-nomcookiesDo you write right through or do you revise as you go along?

Angel: I like to write right through, I find if I go back and revise I won’t get a thing done! Although there have been times when something doesn’t work and I have to go and fix it before I can continue.

Jordan: I write through, then I do a revision, then let it sit a few weeks and revise again. I have heard I’m very delete button happy but I think that is just a viscous rumor.

When it comes to plotting, do you write freely or plan everything in advance?

Angel: I like to plan out everything. It doesn’t always work that way though. I like to have footsteps to meet along the way so I know I’m staying on track.


Jordan: I plot freely. I usually get a scene in my head, a character or two and just let them tell their own story. It is always a bit frustrating when the story doesn’t go the way I planned on it going. Sometimes the ending is as much as a surprise to me as it is to the reader. Now if I could figure out a way to wrap the story up in one book and not make everything I write a series.

Of your characters do you have a favorite and why?

Angel: I think that Evan would be my favorite from Marco. He wasn’t in the original manuscript, but he decided to show up in a big way during a rewrite and he’s just grabbed me and held on. Other than Shamalyn and Shayodi.

Jordan: Yes, My favorite are the twins Shamalyn and Shayodi from the upcoming book Faelon. They are so much fun to write, they are a bundle of energy, you never what they are going to do or more importantly what they will say.

Writers often go on about writer’s block. Do you ever suffer from it, and what measures do you take to get past it?

Angel: I don’t think it’s really writer’s block.  It’s more of a ‘where do I go from here’ in a story where I have not plotted it out and am not sure where to go. Usually I let that one sit for a bit, work on something else and then come back to it.

Jordan: I don’t suffer from writer’s block. I have so many ideas, tumbling around in my head. My biggest problem is not coming up with ideas that are too far out there, believe me when I mentioned a gay Amish vampire, people thought I was losing it. Now I go, “Wait until you hear this idea” and people groan and roll their eyes.

Do you have a particular spot in your house that you call your comfy zone? (The place where you write.)

Angel: I like to write in my office, but from time to time I write in ‘my spot’ in the living room.

Jordan: I write in my bedroom usually, I plug my ipod in, bring up the file that has music for that character and just lose myself. If it’s warm outside I have an area under the trees where I’m able to get fresh air and enjoy nature.

When you’re in the mindset to write, do you put a sign up that warns others not to disturb you while at work?

Angel: My dog wouldn’t pay the sign any mind, so it’s no point.

Jordan: No, I find that I can block everything out when I become my hero. I think the house could fall in around me and I wouldn’t notice it.

How would you describe your sense of humor? Who and what makes you laugh?

Angel: It depends on my mood, but working in the medical field for years, I have developed a morbid sense of humor.  Jordan and his partner make me laugh with the stories Jordan tells me. And when he starts a sentence with ‘Well Ya See,’ I know it’s gonna be a doozie!

Jordan: Sarcastic and a bit dry, or should I say dark? The things that make me laugh, ironically I’m the one that laughs when you fall. All my friends know not to count on me in an emergency, I’ll be laughing too hard to save you. That goes back to my dark, dry weird sarcastic and somewhat sadistic sense of humor.

What is the most frequently asked AJ Kelton question?

Angel: lol don’t know…I haven’t had any yet!

Jordan: When do you get your ideas and do you find it hard to write?

What are you working on now?

Angel: Finalizing Under The Australian Sky, Faelon, Marco, the sequel to all three of those and some new stories as well. Plus some solo projects.

Jordan: Actually I have a ghost story that is almost done.

Writing is obviously not just how you make your living, but your life-style as well. What do you do to keep the creative “spark” alive – both in your work and out of it?

Angel: I’ve got a lot of story ideas that come to me when I’m at work as well as talking to Jordan, or I call my dad and run ideas by him.

Jordan: I travel, I go to museums, I take days to just relax and have a lot of fun. Sometimes just looking at the countryside go by is a great way to come up with ideas.

What kind of books do you like to read outside of the MM Genre?

Angel: the MM genre has pretty much ruined me for MF romance books, but I do read paranormal, historical, true crime/documentaries and such.

Jordan: Paranormal romance and horror with a dash of Amish romance tossed in. Yeah I know I’m a bit odd but eclectic.

Pick one: Scientist, Astronaut, Retail, or Horse Trainer-

Angel: Horse Trainer most definitely!

Jordan: Scientist

Aside from writing, what else do you enjoy doing?

Angel: Watching movies, crime dramas, listening to music and getting lost in the lives of our characters. I love painting ceramics, taking photos (lots and lots of photos), traveling.

Jordan: I’m a bit artistic, I love take photos. I love to travel and you can usually find me reading a book. Oh yes and I love to pen pal. I actually put pen to paper and have developed a group of wonderful friend through the lost art of snail mail pen pals.

Any special projects coming out soon we should watch for?

Angel: Under The Australian Sky was released January 25, 2013 by MLR Press.

Jordan: Legion , Marco and Faelon all should be out by this summer

Can you please tell us where we can find you on the Internet?

Angel: We have a few places you can find us.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/ajkelton

http://ajkelton.com/

http://ajkeltonblog.blogspot.com

www.facebook.com/aj.kelton.9

http://twitter.com/#!/AJKelton

It was a pleasure having you here with us today. Please come by and let us know how you’re doing from time to time. OH! And before you leave, can I get your help here in the kitchen? Thanks!!

Angel:  Thanks so much for having us! We would love to come back and chat over a cup of tea from time to time. I’ll be happy to help in the kitchen! Lead the way!

Jordan: Me? Help in the kitchen? That’s a disaster waiting to happen.

Oh but we don’t actually do anything but watch Charles. Follow me!

dishes

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

